We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet friendly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Mill Barn is approached through its private garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ Mill Barn has a private, fenced garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Mill Barn is approached through its private garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
Mill Barn has a private, fenced garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
View from main gate towards Mill Barn
A view from Mill Barn's garden, with disused railway bridge in the background
Mill Barn's parking space
The main floor at Mill Barn, looking from the kitchen towards the living area
The living area with warming woodburner
The kitchen, recently upgraded with new oven and ceramic hob
The kitchen and door to the patio and garden
Snuggle under the duvet together in the cosy bedroom
Upgraded bathroom with new shower and cubicle
The village centre is just a 5 minute walk away
Walk to the oldest part of Lustleigh
Step back in time with a walk through Wreyland in Lustleigh, the village within the village
The entrance to the local pub in the village centre
The Cleave pub offers good beer and food
Hisley Bridge on the River Bovey is just a 20 minute walk from Mill Barn
Becky Falls on Dartmoor is accessible as part of a day's walk from Mill Barn
Our local farm shop, Ullacombe. Do you dare take on the Big Barn Breakfast?
Hound Tor is great to explore and is a short drive from Mill Barn
Mill Barn is located on the edge of Dartmoor with its stunning landscapes and rugged outcrops
Traditional Clapper Bridge at Bellever Plantation on Dartmoor
The church at Widecombe-in-the-moor, the cathedral in the moor, is just a short drive away
The coast is about half an hour away. Try the boat trip from Totnes to Dartmouth Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
691doreen...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lustleigh is a beautiful place to stay and Mill Barn the perfect holiday home lovely scenery peaceful location, dog friendly garden to sit in and listen to the water, we had lovely weather but even if not plenty to do and see, highly recommend Becky Falls and Canonteigh falls both places allow dogs if you wish to take them and an unexpected find in Bovey Tracey Jolly Roger lifesize models is well worth a look. Had a lovely sunday lunch at the Cleave in Lustleigh and cream tea at the Primrose well worth a visit as is The old cottage tea shop in Bovey Tracey . Michele was very welcoming and helpful and we hope we will be able to visit again had one of our best holidays thank you so much Michele and Simon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you so much, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Do hope that we see you again, Michele and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemew
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mill Barn, Lustleigh”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting. The view from the garden spectacular. Lustleigh is a beautiful village on the edge of Dartmoor. Perfect location for visiting Dartmoor and surrounding areas in Devon. Good walks from the accommodation. Friendly pub and convenient shop and tea rooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mill Barn and how much you enjoyed the fabulous views from the garden. It would be lovely to welcome you back another time, Michele and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen E
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab cottage, gorgeous location”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed here whilst on a course at Mapstone Studio. The valley has gorgeous walks through woods and along streams, and the studio is about a 25 minute walk up the valley. The village has a fab pub and local shop and everyone is very friendly! Not so far away by road is the small town of Bovey Tracey (and an M&S), but it feels like another planet! This little barn cottage really has everything 1 or 2 people need for a few days away (including decent wifi) and feels a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of work.

The converted barn is quite small, but perfectly formed! You enter into the kitchen, with living area and wood burning stove beyond. Downstairs is a double bedroom and bathroom. Michele and Simon were kind enough to leave me milk, bread, coffee and eggs, and the kitchen is well equipped. The barn is cosy and well heated, but pack a decent jumper and waterproofs as this valley is very green for a reason!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and to hear about how much you enjoyed your course at Mapstone Studio. We hope that we can welcome you back to Mill Barn at another time. Michele and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you both and your dogs back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greg S
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Break in a Heavenly Spot.”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My Wife and I have just returned from a wonderful week at Mill Barn Lustleigh. The barn was just right for us and our 2 dogs. The surrounding walks are amazing. The dogs just loved the rivers and streams that flow down from the moor, and no walk in any direction from the barn is too far from one. We especially enjoyed sitting outside looking out across the valley to the old railway bridge and listening to the river below. The locals are very friendly, always seem to have time for a chat, and the local pub is great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to send in such a positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mill Barn. It sounds like you made the most of the beautiful local area during your stay. Michele and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute holiday hideaway”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Ideal for two! In a lovely location this barn conversion was a comfortable base for our holiday in Devon. Lustleigh is a small hamlet with a shop and pub lots of lovely walks around the area. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Narrow roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don A
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I plus our dog had a very nice weeks stay in this small but compact little converted barn. It had everything we needed and was very comfortable. There are walks around and it is not too far from the coast if you fancy a day out. It is a very quiet relaxing place and the village is nice with a good pub.
p.s. The property is on Mill lane and not Mill road .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet tranquility
Liked least: No internet signal but able to get one in centre of village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing