We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
116
18
10
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
116
18
10
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely site shower block small shop dog walk clean site grass pitch castle inn within walking distance dishwashing area camping park plenty of space local walks extension cable well stocked shop four nights fantastic views easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The campsite is a good location and nicely kept and clean , however we did have our weekend spoiled a bit being told off by warden at 1015 pm for talking and laughing and he was harsh and rude no people skills , we didn't argue went to our vans like naughty children , just to let you know are average age is about 55 it was a Saturday no shouting maybe load laughing . They state on there details curfew is 11pm then into vans , if you can't sit outside on a Saturday and talk and laugh then what is the point in being away, we didn't break rules , we won't return to this site .

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The staff were friendly and helpful, always around to open the gate. The toilets and showers were immaculate. We felt that the muddiness of the site and long grass let the site down, particularly as the hardstandings were a bit on the smallish side meaning that most cars were required to park at least partially on the grass. We know that our visit was towards the end of the season. A load of hardcore next spring would do much to improve the site!

Room tip: Avoid a pitch under the trees if wet weather!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennyO1440DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Stayed a couple nights and were really pleased with the site. Well kept grounds and very clean. Nice big pitches. Staff were lovely, very informative and helpful. Would highly recommend. Fifteen minute walk to the gorge

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The site is well set out, there is plenty of space between pitches and plenty with hardstanding if you require. The toilet facilities are clean and well kept. One thing i did like was the WIFI, the staff said it was free but you can make a donation and we did.
The staff are excellent and helpful and go out of their way to help and chat, thank you.
The location is excellent for Lydford Gorge, a great walk. The local pub/eateries are excellent too, just ask the staff for info. We will definitely go back.

Room tip: Go to the castle inn, great food.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263andif
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed on the campsite in our campervan for 3 nights (T, F & S). Plenty of stuff to keep us occupied; the three nights were just right to enjoy the Lydford Gorge, The Granite way, Moorland Walks and Finch Foundry on the way home. Super attentive staff, very clean utilities, well kept pitches and views on site to boot.

Room tip: Use the farm shop as it's the only shop the locals have.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobBovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews