We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
114
18
10
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
114
18
10
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely site shower block small shop dog walk clean site grass pitch castle inn within walking distance dishwashing area camping park plenty of space local walks extension cable well stocked shop four nights fantastic views easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Toilets and shower block clean, could do with a squegee instead of a mop. We were allocated a tiny pitch even though we had a booked an awning. Found the owners a bit cold, although they are always happy to give you free reversing tips. Unlikely to be back.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ellen-jack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2019

We have stayed on this beautiful ,well kept and expertly run site for a couple of weeks and we are quite baffled by the comments left by a family that stayed here too in August. There have been no bbq's the whole site is very clean and staff are really helpful at all times. We have visited this site for many years and will be back very soon

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singleseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2019

Last couple of years camping holidays have been marred slightly by feral kids, inconsiderate adults and stray dogs. What a welcome relief at Lydford.

If you want a quiet site, with outstanding views and the ability to sit and watch the bats in the evening, then Lydford is the place for you. Not once did I have to listen to someone elses music, endure screaming kids running round or have to kick a dog out of my tent.

Staff were around, but very much 'in the background' - a smile and a wave as we drove in and out, but very unobtrusive. However, if you are unable to be considerate, I'm sure you would be spoken to.

Showers and toilets were all spotlessly clean, but are perhaps in need of an update. There are plenty of them, so never needed to queue.

Great pub in the village too!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

When this became part of the CC it was a welcome addition with dedicated and professional staff that kept and safe and clean site that is not the case now. Staff are off hand unless taking money off you, the site is scruffy and worst of all quite dirty. There are barbecues held from time to time that do not comply with food hygiene regulations and should be avoided. Not the happy, well run place it was some years ago. Will not be back again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sarkiengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Just returned after a five night stay here and sadly didn't have the lovely experience of the previous reviewers.

It is still a beautiful campsite and spotlessly clean, but the change of management here in recent years has changed the feel of the place. To be honest we found that the management were friendly on arrival only. They seemed quite aloof at all other times.

We agree with other reviewers that stated that the site has a clicky atmosphere. This stems from the management and seasonally pitched based residents being only happy to engage with you if you are in a couple or if you are elderly. You are made to feel very uncomfortable if you aren't.

Unfortunately as a family of four we will not be returning here again.



Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tearoomjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews