We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
129
36
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
36
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel country house recommend this hotel beautiful setting cream tea american pancakes local pub full english guest house short break four poster bed three nights breakfast was delicious stayed one night couldn't do enough old house great position
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is the second time in four years that my wife and I have stayed in this hotel.
Previously we have had the Brentor room and as my wife was born in Brentor village that it was a nice bonus for a lovely weekend. This time we had High Tor which had a bath as well as a shower. On both occasions we could not fault how clean and near perfect the rooms were.
Breakfast has an excellent selection and a good portion size you could not fault. The young waiting staff were attentive and polite.
I partially agree with silvertraveller2016 comments on the restaurant experience it was a bit odd. I also think we were the party of six that the silvertraveller mentioned. When we booked into the hotel that evening, we asked for a table of six for that night. It was just after we got to our rooms that the waiter knocked the door and asked for our selection. Even then, what was on the menu, not all available. I have an opinion that as they have a limited number of covers, that they only purchase sections of the menu each day to stay as fresh as possible and once it’s gone its gone.
I do have to say the food that we had was good and with a couple of bottles wine it was very reasonably priced.
To summarise: We would not hesitate to book again

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

This Hotel is on the Granite Way cycle path and/or Route 27. Particularly if you are doing the latter a great and generous lunch with a warm welcome is just what well-worked legs need. There's a bike rack outside and spots you can sit if the idea of leaving your carbon fibre/titanium object of love and polish out of sight worries you. They welcome cyclists - even muddy ones - although it looks as though you need to be dressed up to enter. There's a good range of lunch fare on offer. We had a sandwich and a big pot of tea. Both delicious. There is an art form to getting that much egg mayo between two slices of fresh bread and it holding together (keep the serviette close by.) A lovely lounge and outside area to choose from. Well worth a stop. They also do cream tea that we were being too well-behaved to have. Next time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DrM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed in Dream Tor room which was very spacious with excellent shower room facilities. We were given a warm welcome and found that the hotel had evening dinner available, so booked dinner for our second night, as we had already pre booked a meal for our first night. The hotel is in a lovely tranquil setting, with the attractive village of Lydford nearby. The only thing that spoiled our stay was our experience of the restaurant.
There was an excellent selection of breakfast options, but my poached eggs on toast arrived swimming in their cooking water, so had to be sent back. When we went for our dinner on our second evening, we were told that the only starter available was squid, which neither of us like, and when I ordered salmon in caper sauce, I was told, sorry there were no capers! What made things worse was that a party of six arrived 40 minutes later and were served with three different starters between them, none of which was squid! When I asked how they had magically produced these different starters, I was told that the party had pre ordered, which led me to ask why we weren't invited to pre order when we'd booked the previous evening!
I was very upset by this experience for two reasons: firstly, this meal had been meant to be my birthday treat, and secondly, we'd had an excellent meal at the village pub the previous evening, where we were tempted to rebook, but didn't as we'd already seen items on the Country House menu which had taken our fancy- if only we'd known they wouldn't be available! So my advice is, book a table at the Castle Inn for your dinner!!

Room Tip: Dream Tor was very spacious, but we couldn't access wifi! There's no lift, so access could be a problem for anyone with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Room was just as described and on arrival fresh milk was sent to room and help with luggage. However, this was the only contact with anyone till breakfast the next morning. it would have been nice to have a conversation re history of the house etc and any local hostelries available for an evening meal rather than left to our own devices.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JillC1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed for two nights in July and our overal feeling is that Lydford Country House is good value for money. Our room was very clean. The bed was good, wifi worked well, etc. Only downside was the shower, as there was no mount on the wall. That made showering a clumsy affair. The breakfast is a simple full english and ok. We had dinner once, but their kitchen is small, so don't expect too much of it. It is inexpensive though. Less than a mile up the road is a nice traditional pub with good food. There is a large common room for everyone, and a beautiful patio and green. The surroundings are peaceful and it is very quiet at night. Excellent location for visiting Dartmoor National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper shower (mount) if available
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews