We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The camp site is basic with a spacious field the wash room facilities were basic and clean. Food in the pub was very good especially the chips! good value for money. The big plus for this site is you can walk onto the moors and leave the car, even walk to Lydford Gorge. Go for a walk then come back for acream tea - lovely :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GweekLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Fox and Hounds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a meal recently, alas the frier wasnt working which was a shame as they do real chips perfectly cooked, yes its a bit dated but its a real locals friendly pub where people call after work, not many left these days! Does snacks and more expensive items so suits all pockets. Had a curry but alas no mango chutney or naan bread but other meals looked gorgeous, Handy for walking and easy to find

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needham10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in the bunkhouse - only 1 word to describe - Grim!, strong smell from drains & dirty accomodation but friendly hosts, excellent breakfast and good pub food - suspect the Pub B & B is very good just the bunkhouse that was poor but for price was tolerable for a single night although wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Check MOD website for live firing dates on Dartmoor if planning on walking, before booking anywhere...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Fox and Hounds was excellent value for money. We had a lovely room, the staff were great and the food was really good and although it was on an A road, it was very quiet and the views were fantastic, traditional pub food at reasonable prices. although there was a function going on and the pub was very busy the service was still excellent. Would highly recommend this to anyone visitng Dartmoor as Lydford Gorge and some great walks were within easy distance.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which might be quieter but I don't really know
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stopped off here for a light lunch while out cycling and were delighted to find a real homely atmosphere inside! It was spotlessly clean and had heaps of character. The landlady/barmaid was very welcoming and seemed very happy at her work, joking with the customers, a nice change to the indifferent/grumpy staff you sometimes get at chain pubs! Nothing was too much trouble and she sorted us out with drinks and delicious home made soup and rolls. We were so glad we stopped here and wish there were more places like this!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Fox and Hounds near Lydford in their caravan site which is located immediately behind the pub/hotel. The bar has character and has not been ruined by being updated, the real ale is superb and the food is of great quality. The staff and owners all were helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble, what a pleasure it was to stay. We look forward to returning. John and Meg Wherry

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed in the bunk house, as soon as you go in the room the damp smell hits you, then the coldness, then the 70 decor! this is the worse bunk house I've ever stayed in!! i know it was cheap but it was just so so cold I ended up using a survival blanket to survive the night. In the morning all our stuff was damp, I camped the previous night and had wished Id did that last night now that is saying something, would never stay there again, staff were friendly enough, the owners really need to change things.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1ladyescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
18.4 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
263 reviews
14.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
123 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Mary Tavy Inn
The Mary Tavy Inn
#1 of 4 in Mary Tavy
86 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Tavistock
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Lydford, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing