We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place by a mile ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We have visited the fox and hounds a fair few times , the staff are always friendly especially Dave, the food is A1, we had the good fortune to be able to book for Christmas Day lunch as it sells out very quick and I can see why it was absolutely fantastic nothing was to much bother for frank (the owner) and the staff where brilliant the food was out if this world 10 out of 10 I say , if ever you pass you must drop in and say hi you won't regret it.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank ianmeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We always enjoy our visits to the Fox and Hounds. Nothing is too much trouble for Frank's staff. Whatever time of day or night you get there you are always made to feel welcome and can have a good filling meal, in front of a blazing fire in the winter. There are some real characters in the bar and behind the bar. Both Dave and Eddie seem to enjoy their work and make sure that you enjoy your visit!

Traditional sums up the decor and layout of the dining rooms. We always try to eat in the bar which is cosy and welcoming. There are separate dining rooms which are great for groups.

We go there every time we are in the area which is at least once or twice a month and we keep going back because of the friendliness of the staff and variety and quality of the 'pub grub'

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BrentorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited with friends who know the LandLord and we were treated very well, the food (Roast Turkey)was fantastic - the homemade Apple pie was delicious.

This place is not the best for decoration - but the food and welcome you receive well makes up for it! You wont leave hungry!

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We reckon that this place is one of best pubs in the UK. We often come here for a drink and a meal. Everyone is just so friendly and you can easily have a laugh and a joke with them, especially with the Manager! Food is always cooked absolutely superb and nearly all of it is homemade, especially the chips, which are amazing.

We have actually stayed in this hotel once back in January 2012, which was lovely and the breakfast the next day was just amazing and a large portion.

So I would definitely recommend this place. We will certainly keep visiting every so often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbruce62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was nice to find a friendly warm pub on a dark rainy night - we thought.
However the welcome was strange. We were left to find a table in a cold dining room then finally told (by the one friendly member of staff) that we could take an empty one that had been 'reserved'. Prices were on the high side for pub grub so our expectations were correspondingly high. They soon came crashing down! My husband's belly pork gained the rather graphic description of tasting like 'the rough edge of a washing-up sponge'. The beef pie left a great deal to be desired. Only the scampi was OK and to be honest, who can go wrong with scampi?
We won't be returning. Perhaps we just caught an off-night in the kitchen? I do hope so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank UKtraveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Dropped in on the way back from walking around the Tor's. Very friendly people had a good chat and a bit of a laugh with them. Good Ale too.
We ate and the food was very well cooked and presented with really friendly service but I do have a gripe which I voiced then and was well received. There was too much food.
Am I mad? well we only ordered off the snack menu as we had plans to eat out later, my ham egg and chips while very nice but ham and egg on one plate and a separate bowl of chips, really 2 dishes for a snack.
The food is good you don't need to overdo the quantitiy.
Still really nice pub, happy to go back again.

Room Tip: Perfect location for a walk on the Tors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RunningReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have been visiting the F&H for food for several years now. I always found it to be good, honest food at reasonable prices. However as prices have inevitably crept up the standards seem to be slipping. I always felt that the landlord ran a tight ship but not so sure anymore. The food is more often that not of a good standard but the service is deteriorating. Some of the waiting staff are very pleasant a couple are not. Real irritation is the reluctance to wipe down tables between covers. I thought this is just a routine task in any decent eatery. We have had food plonked down on the table whilst plates from a previous service were still there and also when other people's food debris is on the table. No way. We had waited 45 minutes from placing the order so there had been plenty of time for this to be done. When we pleasantly asked a young waitress if she could wipe the table over for us she was huffy and grudgingly wiped a small patch and said it had been wiped in the past. I would hope it had been wiped in the past more than once, the issue being it hadn't been done between services.

Cannot imagine the very experienced landlord would appreciate his staff having that attitude. Real shame because a pub that has been going for so long, successfully has been doing a lot right and probably still is. Most of the team have been there a long time and new staff need to be well trained and have less attitude!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank wavedreamerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
281 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
14.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
128 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: £68 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Lydford, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing