We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good walkers pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Zeal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very good walkers pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a nice pub on the edge of Dartmoor. The food is "good pub grub" rather than restaurant. The staff are friendly and coped well with us coming in from pouring rain. Well mannered dogs on leads are welcome. It is a bright and breezy pub. Frank the landlord is excellent and is well backed up by front of house and in the kitchen. Perfect for lunch in the middle of a good walk. Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommydickydougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    48
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
47
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We received a warm welcome. The restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The traditional pub dinner and full English breakfast were hearty. It is a great place to stay, close to the moor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here on a few occasions, we gave a small camper van and they have a field behind which is very reasonable priced. The bar atmosphere is great on winter nights with the log fire lit. The food is great old fashioned style and helpings. This is a great place for a passing drink or preferable have a meal, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kernow_Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have a lovely walk on Dartmoor, then into the Fox & Hounds for good food, good company and (if the mood is right) some good craic of an evening. Always keeps a good cellar of local beers. Dogs are always welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The room was spacious and charming and very affordably priced. Breakfast was hearty and dinner was delicious. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Moor and the local walking is breathtaking.

All in all, with friendly staff, a comfortable atmosphere and nice food, you could not want for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Owen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant friendly hotel, clean, good food ,beer and dog friendly. A warm welcome and hospitable staff thank you , good base to walk from and explore north Devon. Log fires and wifi available you can camp too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We have visited the fox and hounds a fair few times , the staff are always friendly especially Dave, the food is A1, we had the good fortune to be able to book for Christmas Day lunch as it sells out very quick and I can see why it was absolutely fantastic nothing was to much bother for frank (the owner) and the staff where brilliant the food was out if this world 10 out of 10 I say , if ever you pass you must drop in and say hi you won't regret it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ianmeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
13.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,235 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
17.1 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
177 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Hotel
Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Lydford, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing