We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lydford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Searched this place out after visiting 4 ish years ago and one of the best steaks ever. Did not disappoint. The Devon steak was fabulous. The staff and we presume owner were very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return again and maybe stay next time so we can have a bottle of wine with our meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and were part of a group, four were camping and my wife and I had booked a room.

A problem arose when our friends arrived to pitch tents and were told the shower block and toilets were out of action being furbished which was not mentioned on their website, as we had booked a room our friends decided to stay and use the campsite and pub toilets; not a great start!

Our hosts made us reasonably welcome, the room was basic but clean although the shower was just about impossible to get to the correct temperature and the bed mattress quite uncomfortable. We ate two nights in the restaurant and the food was of a high standard even on the busy Saturday night when the staff looked under pressure.

Did not like the quantity of flies in the dining room and spent as much time fending them off as eating during breakfast and dinner.

Probably would not go back and if I was camping I would definitely call beforehand and check toilets, showers and bunk-rooms are all available and usable. Why on earth schedule major work on your facilities during peak season??

Overall staff were good, clean room, breakfast and pub food very good and was good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stopped off here today on a drive through Dartmoor and enjoyed a steak and onion and Brie and cranberry baguette. Very tasty, pleasant service and good garden area. Service was quick and portions were reasonable too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having a day out visiting Lydford Gorge we needed food and refreshments and happened on the Fox and Hounds, we received a warm welcome and good service. The food was very good my husband and daughter had the Steak pie and I had the belly pork we all decided on chips and they were homemade and delicious there was plenty of veg to share, we all enjoyed our meal with only a little complaint which was the pie crust was a bit like wet cardboard but the meat was plentiful and tasty. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Called in for a late lunch and fortunately they serve meals thru the afternoon. Quite a character behind the bar who would be a lot happier if he wasnt an avid England supporter. Good range of beverages and well presented, tasty pub fayre. Will visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a nice pub on the edge of Dartmoor. The food is "good pub grub" rather than restaurant. The staff are friendly and coped well with us coming in from pouring rain. Well mannered dogs on leads are welcome. It is a bright and breezy pub. Frank the landlord is excellent and is well backed up by front of house and in the kitchen. Perfect for lunch in the middle of a good walk. Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommydickydougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We received a warm welcome. The restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The traditional pub dinner and full English breakfast were hearty. It is a great place to stay, close to the moor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lydford House Hotel
Lydford House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lydford
134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Cromwell Arms
Cromwell Arms
#1 of 6 in Bovey Tracey
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heathergate Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Mary Tavy Inn
The Mary Tavy Inn
#1 of 4 in Mary Tavy
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range: £68 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Lydford, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing