We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Queen's Head Hotel(Tavistock)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The White Hart Hotel(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Bridges Hotel(Two Bridges)
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
87
54
13
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
54
13
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday roasthomemade chipsa late lunchsnack menuthe food is greatfamily roomwhoppermenu is extensivewarm rollsold fashioned stylelovely open firelunch timelog firecurrystayed here for nightslovely lady
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Searched this place out after visiting 4 ish years ago and one of the best steaks ever. Did not disappoint. The Devon steak was fabulous. The staff and we presume owner were very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return again and maybe stay next time so we can have a bottle of wine with our meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and were part of a group, four were camping and my wife and I had booked a room.

A problem arose when our friends arrived to pitch tents and were told the shower block and toilets were out of action being furbished which was not mentioned on their website, as we had booked a room our friends decided to stay and use the campsite and pub toilets; not a great start!

Our hosts made us reasonably welcome, the room was basic but clean although the shower was just about impossible to get to the correct temperature and the bed mattress quite uncomfortable. We ate two nights in the restaurant and the food was of a high standard even on the busy Saturday night when the staff looked under pressure.

Did not like the quantity of flies in the dining room and spent as much time fending them off as eating during breakfast and dinner.

Probably would not go back and if I was camping I would definitely call beforehand and check toilets, showers and bunk-rooms are all available and usable. Why on earth schedule major work on your facilities during peak season??

Overall staff were good, clean room, breakfast and pub food very good and was good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stopped off here today on a drive through Dartmoor and enjoyed a steak and onion and Brie and cranberry baguette. Very tasty, pleasant service and good garden area. Service was quick and portions were reasonable too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having a day out visiting Lydford Gorge we needed food and refreshments and happened on the Fox and Hounds, we received a warm welcome and good service. The food was very good my husband and daughter had the Steak pie and I had the belly pork we all decided on chips and they were homemade and delicious there was plenty of veg to share, we all enjoyed our meal with only a little complaint which was the pie crust was a bit like wet cardboard but the meat was plentiful and tasty. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Called in for a late lunch and fortunately they serve meals thru the afternoon. Quite a character behind the bar who would be a lot happier if he wasnt an avid England supporter. Good range of beverages and well presented, tasty pub fayre. Will visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews