We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydford
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We where a party of 11 being French friends on a visit to South Devon, a very big Thank you to Frank and Dave and the rest of the staff, there hospitably had no bounds ..
Do not expect 5 star accommodation, the rooms full of what one would wish for in a old world Pub in the middle of Dartmoor and very clean , i can also say that the Full English breakfast is the best i have had for a very long time :-) the meals in the evening where also very good ,
would recommend for anyone planning a trip to Dartmoor

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    46
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
44
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We met two people we knew only slightly at the Fox & Hounds for lunch. One has a food allergy: no problem. They had things on the menu that were fine as is; other items they could--and did--slightly change to accommodate. Service was wonderful. The food was excellent, and among us, we had a fish dish, pub sausages, an elegant vegetarian goat cheese tart, and beef pie. When time for dessert came, they had sold out of what I wanted--lemon sponge pudding. Oh, well. So the others ordered desserts, all of them good, and we had coffee. And we sat and talked and talked and talked. When any ordinary restaurateur would be giving us the bum's rush, the lovely man who had taken care of all our luncheon desires came to the table and set before me a plate with a lemon sponge pudding on it, sprinkled with candied zest and nestled on a bed of lemon custard sauce. "For you, gratis; they just made the batch for tonight, and I thought you would like it," he said. He also brought three more spoons so my companions could dig in if they chose--but they were all too full. Good. More for me, and it was delicious. Would we go back there for a meal? Any day of the week and twice on Sundays.

Room Tip: We didn't look at the rooms, being local. But the Fox & Hounds restaurant is quite well know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Harrison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights the rooms are a little dated but the food was first class, can recommend the breakfast also would recommend you go to Lydford gorge we'll worth a visit it's an idle base for touring dartmoor

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I stumbled on this pub and it was so good we returned the following day.
Welcoming staff (who fitted us in on an extremely busy Saturday night as we had not booked). The food is good honest pub grub, fresh vegetables, great cuts of meat, and at very reasonable prices.
I would definately recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Searched this place out after visiting 4 ish years ago and one of the best steaks ever. Did not disappoint. The Devon steak was fabulous. The staff and we presume owner were very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return again and maybe stay next time so we can have a bottle of wine with our meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and were part of a group, four were camping and my wife and I had booked a room.

A problem arose when our friends arrived to pitch tents and were told the shower block and toilets were out of action being furbished which was not mentioned on their website, as we had booked a room our friends decided to stay and use the campsite and pub toilets; not a great start!

Our hosts made us reasonably welcome, the room was basic but clean although the shower was just about impossible to get to the correct temperature and the bed mattress quite uncomfortable. We ate two nights in the restaurant and the food was of a high standard even on the busy Saturday night when the staff looked under pressure.

Did not like the quantity of flies in the dining room and spent as much time fending them off as eating during breakfast and dinner.

Probably would not go back and if I was camping I would definitely call beforehand and check toilets, showers and bunk-rooms are all available and usable. Why on earth schedule major work on your facilities during peak season??

Overall staff were good, clean room, breakfast and pub food very good and was good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here today on a drive through Dartmoor and enjoyed a steak and onion and Brie and cranberry baguette. Very tasty, pleasant service and good garden area. Service was quick and portions were reasonable too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank summergirl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydford
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Hotel
Address: Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lydford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox and Hounds Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Hotel Lydford, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing