We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage, left feeling really relaxed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lee Cottage Treehouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Lee Cottage
Treehouse
Love-Lee Cottage river bank
Garden
Love-Lee Cottage
Hand crafted king size bed
Lounge
Resident kingfisher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Angie T
1 review
“Lovely little cottage, left feeling really relaxed”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is a very sweet little cottage on the edge of Dartmoor. The nearest town is Tavistock.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Al and Di and a really nice welcome pack which included cookies and bubbly. Totally unexpected but very generous.
Al and Di the owners are very unintrusive but there if you need them. We had a couple of general maintenance issues, just wear and tear which could not have been foreseen and they were mended immediately without any fuss and with lots of apologies.
We were really lucky with our British weather and managed to have our breakfast in the tree house overlooking the river for most of the day's that we were there. There are also a couple of swings in different locations around the garden so it was lots of fun.
The cottage is quite small but it has everything you need. The decor is very charming and sweet and shows off Al's skilled handiwork really well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad you made use of the treehouse in the gorgeous weather last week. Hope you are still feeling relaxed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Love-Lee Cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely enchanting place to stay. Quirky stunning cottage. More than we expected. Beautiful place even at this time of year. Al and Di are very welcoming. We are recommending this place to many people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I was looking for a cosy peaceful place to stop with lots of beautiful walks to do with our two dogs. This was the perfect place. Excellent, welcoming, friendly service. Cosy and all you need accommodation. Helpful recommendations left for you about the area. Amazing and beautiful garden with a lovely river at the bottom, great for washing the dogs off after a walk.
Lovely walks on the doorstep and just short drives to more.
We had no complaints about this place it was perfect for what we wanted and will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for the lovely review Danielle. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and the dogs enjoyed the walks and the river.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisas0mer...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hidden away it has a beautiful setting with lovely walking on its doorstep. The tree house and river in the garden are a treat.

We found too much to do within a short drive away, especially Lydford Gorge and just exploring the Moors.

The cottage itself is compact & has everything you need including character. The information sheets and welcoming cakes and food basics are a Love-Lee touch.

A lovely stay just could of done with a few more days. Thank you Alan & Di :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you very much. So glad you and Kevin enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful riverside getaway”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is a cosy one up, one down annex to the main house, in secluded woodlands with a small river at the back.
We received a lovely welcome from Di who showed us around the cottage and it was very nice to find the basics like bread, butter, coffee and milk waiting for us.
Being September, the weather wasn't too good but the cottage was warm from the underfloor heating and the electric fire topped it up quickly, if needed. The kitchen and bathroom have slate floors so you'll need your slippers.
The king size bed was large and comfy, although the person on the side against the wall has to clamber over to get out as you can't walk around it because the ceiling slopes at the foot of the bed.
There is one closet downstairs to store your clothes as there is no storage in the bedroom.
The bathroom has a lovely big shower. There is a heated towel rail that warms it all day. There was plenty of room for us to dry wet clothes on an airer that we took. Towels are supplied but they are bath towels, not sheets so you may want your own.
There are lovely big gardens outside that you have full access to, including a tree-house and barbeque area.
At the back of the garden is a path (52 steps) down to the river. There's a private area next to it with a chimnea, with everything you need to fuel and light it. We sat on the supplied chairs and had a picnic in the warm while our dog Benji swam along and across the river. It even rained heavily during our picnic but the tree cover kept us dry! Be aware the river can get quite swollen after heavy rain.
Benji also had plenty of fun running around with Di and Al's dog Cleo.
There are plenty of woodland walks around the cottage as well as the nearby Tamar Valley and not forgetting Dartmoor about 40 minutes away.
Being out in the country, it is completely dark at night, although you have a porch light to help find your way back.
There is no phone signal anywhere locally but the free wifi is adequate.
There are no local shops, Tavistock being about 20 minutes away, so go prepared! You'll need a car to get anywhere.
We had most of our evening meals at the Copper Penny pub in Chipshop (real place!) Good quality, good value and dog friendly. it's about 10 minutes from the cottage. Also try the Forrest inn on Dartmoor but beware the Two Bridges Inn as it's very expensive.
Our car sat nav, as well as Google Maps on the phone, completely ignored 2 junctions from the cottage to Tavistock, so be careful.
To summarise, great place, great hosts, lovely location and good value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Wow - what a comprehensive review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope the puppy is settling in!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heaven in Devon”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a beautiful place to stay. The Cottage is really cute, comfortable and has everything you need. Alan and Di are brilliant hosts and offer a warm welcome with a stock of food to boot. They are very helpful and are there if you need them but leave you be if you don't. I spent the first evening sitting on the rivers edge with a glass of wine and lit the chimnea with wood and firelighters all provided. It was sheer bliss and topped off with a fly by of the resident Kingfisher. Watched a Lesser Spotted Woodpecker on the bird table as I had my al fresco breakfast and took off for a woodland walk just off the doorstep. Dog friendly and Smithy had great fun in the river with dog friendly beaches 45-50 mins drive away. Loads to do locally and I can recommend the 13th Century Church in Brentor, the views are breathtaking. I can thoroughly recommend this place. It is salve for the soul.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for that lovely review Joy. So glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice evening by the river. It was a pleasure to meet you and the gorgeous Smithy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal J
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the cottage for a week and despite the rainy weather had a beautiful cosy time. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Di and were so grateful for the lovely wine and treats they left out for us. Being able to sit by the river in the evening with the chimnea felt very special and we loved reading and chatting together up in the tree house. There were lots of love things to do and places to see nearby. We felt sad to leave such a beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the tree house and chimnea by the river. And thank you for the lovely painted slate you made for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing