We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush take away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Spice

The Royal Spice
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Modbury
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Postcode: PL21 0PU Phone: 01548 831191
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lush take away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a take away the staff were very friendly and the food was great and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shepmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    4
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
703 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,248 helpful votes
“Still decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

As eluded to in my previous review, this Indian is now serving decent fare a perhaps slightly expensive prices. The pathia and saag are always good and when they got my order wrong they delivered a replacement and some extra onion bhajis as a goodwill gesture very quickly. The staff are a bit odd to be honest, they once got out a bottle of beer to give me before then changing their mind and putting it back in the fridge. Didn't look good, don't know how they decided who gets a free bottle of beer!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Busy Saturday night for them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We ate as a party of 13 on a Saturday night and more or less took over the restaurant for a couple of hours. Service was adequate and the drinks menu needs a bit of work, no draught lager and drinks on menu are no longer served. Food was very good and for the size of our party the prompt and correct distribution was faultless. Would definitely return if back in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“midweek heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I went with a friend to celebrate her birthday, on a Thursday night. the Restaurant was spotless, the service impeccable, the food served with great flair and cooked to perfection. I can understand some other reviewers having problems if the place got crowded, especially in summer, it is quite small. However for a winter night out, for a business meal or special occasion, or simply because you are in the area and fancy a take-away, then it is well worth the drive. We travelled 20 miles and felt we could do so again next week and try something else from their very varied menu. We had Indian brand beers, starter, mains, and coffee. Plus side dishes. Our bill was £50 in total but that is very comparable with Plymouth establishments. Perhaps those negative reviews were before the present staff were in place? we will be back very soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but little atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The restaurant was totally empty at 8pm on a Saturday night! The food we ordered Chicken shashlick was good and plentiful but very little spice to lift the taste. Nice but not good enough for me to rush back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveArtBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Spice also viewed

Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Royal Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing