We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easy Moments”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond The verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond
The verandah
The living room
The kitchen area
The bedroom
King sized bed
The bathroom
Free logs stacked nearby
View of the farm from King Tor
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Enjoying the River Dart
The farm in the snow
King Tor from the farm
The duck pond
The hens!
The lane to the moor, abundant wildflowers
The farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
alanjt602
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easy Moments”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stable Cottage is the perfect retreat. Just what we needed to really get away from it all. We loved eating our meals out on the veranda and then sitting watching the ducks and their antics on the lawn. The cottage itself was comfortable and cosy and a delight to stay in. Susie and James were excellent. We just didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we loved having you to stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byson1142
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautifully located cottage on the very edge of Dartmoor”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely week long stay at Stable Cottage. The cottage was well equipped, warm and comfortable, located on a farm amongst the ducks, horses and guinea fowl. Even though we didn't have the greatest of weather we visited some lovely spots and enjoyed walks along the many rivers and over the moor. A good choice of nice pubs locally too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely tucked away cottage. Warm and very comfortable. Ideal for exploring and walking Dartmoor which was just what we wanted. We stayed a week and could have stayed much longer. Will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ainsleyha...
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and Welcoming Stable Cottage”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We were struck by the attention to detail throughout the cottage - particularly ensuring that we were warm and comfortable. The central heating, log fire, effective shower and great bed with electric blanket all meant that we were warm and cosy during cold weather.
James and Susie made us very welcome so we definitely plan to stay again
Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, I do hope we see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrilyMe
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect escape.”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

You could hardly ask for more in a holiday cottage than Stable Cottage offers: wonderful wood fires, stunning surroundings, flawless internet connection (good enough to stream YouTube for small boys needing tractor videos!) and the loveliest hosts imaginable. These are the reasons we regularly return to Hookner and Stable Cottage; the peace and quiet, the restfulness of a simple but comfortable cottage, the delight of the small everyday goings on of a farm around you, well mannered farm dogs that have taught my children to be cautious but comfortable around them, and the endlessly welcoming hosts make it unbeatable. Every year we have found that Susie and James manage to perfectly blend welcoming and helpful attentiveness with a knack for giving us the space to enjoy a family holiday without feeling that we impose on them or they on us. It would be impossible to ask for more and I urge anyone to visit who wants to see more of Dartmoor. We regularly have a fortnight there with 7 of us using the cottage as a base (the owners allow you to add to your accommodation by bringing a tent!) and it has always been perfect. And if you do need anything, from help if something goes wrong in the cottage to an extra pot to make a big dinner of pasta, they are incredibly accommodating and thoughtful. I can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A L
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean, comfortable and great base to explore”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The place was as described in the advert. Clean, comfortable and a great base to explore Dartmoor. The woodburner was particularly welcoming. Ducks, dogs, horses and chickens are on your doorstep. The owners are really welcoming and helpful. The wifi dropped out for a few days (being right at the end of the line), but it was actually quite nice to fully disconnect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Sorry to hear, you had problems with the wifi, this is not usually an issue, and seems to be fine again this week. We had recently replaced a booster which may have caused a temporary fault, this is now disconnected and the wifi is working fine. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne448
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow what a lovely place,so picturesque. The dogs loved it long walks and what a great place to sit outside and enjoy the weather very relaxing definitely recommend staying here. Lots to do and see thankyou Diane and Jo x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing