We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Restaurant”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We went there for a meal on Saturday the 25th of August. We had booked it with recommendations from freind's when looking at the website we were bemused as to what we are going to expect as there is not much information really. But on arrival we were unexpectedly pleased to see the grounds, the opulence and the grandure of this beautiful hotel/restaurant. Our friends had 2 young children as well and we were so well looked after and every one was very pleasant to the children and tried hard to keep them involved in choosing their meal.
2 of us ordered coffee for after dinner but they did not taste right and on informing the waiters they were taken of our bills. We are so taken by this beautiful sorrunding that we are hoping to go and stay there next year for some special celebrations.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank French L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,889 - 1,895 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We visited Bovey Castle for a family wedding in July this year and were astonished by the breathtaking views and surroundings. The wedding breakfast was excellent and overall our visit was most hospitable

Thank Marisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I saw an excellent offer from Travelzoo for a 1 stay with breakfast and dinner, saving £180. I thought this would be a great opportunity to treat my husband for his birthday. However, having read some recent poor reviews concerning customer service and the Classic room on offer. I called the hotel to seek reassurance from a Manager that the 5* service suggested by the hotel website is what would have been experienced rather than that suggested by the reviews. It so happened that Frederico, the General Manager was on duty and I have to say he persuaded me that we would indeed have a memorable time. I said I would call back the following evening. I called as arranged and was told he was unavailable to confirm the booking, I left a message. No call was received, I gave him the benefit of the doubt until the following evening to call.... Nothing. I called the hotel to say that we would not be booking as it appeared that despite all the positive words the other night, actions speak louder than words. I received a call within 5 mins, the reason given for not calling was he had forgotten!!!. I said that we would no longer be booking as this lack of customer service reflected that previously raised as a concern. I said that I would be detailing my experience on Trip Adviser,his response was that he wasn't threatened by Trip Adviser. Not a response I would have expected from the General Manager of a 5 * star hotel. I am sure that Frederico will post a reply to this post saying that he offered to ensure that our visit would be as expected, but I'm afraid I wasn't prepared to take the chance for my husband's birthday.It's easy to promise excellence, but actions speak louder than words and if someone in the position of General Manager can't lead by example it unfortunately gave me no confidence. I'm sure guests will continue to have memorable holidays at this hotel, but my personal pre booking experience has
ensured that one of them won't be me!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank devonbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle management team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

While we are fully aware that our guests, particularly those looking to book for the first time, turn to TripAdvisor for unbiased feedback from fellow travellers, you are not assisting future guests by providing only an abridged version of events.

For booking information left unclear by any online promotional deal, the third party booker or our own reservations team would have been able to provide further detail in the first instance. Your decision to ring the hotel directly and speak to the hotel manager was not unreasonable, but the speed at which you demanded your enquiry to be recognised was simply unrealistic.

Federico Aresti dealt with your calls both sympathetically and confidently, offering his expertise as hotel manager to ensure your stay at the hotel would be befitting of the occasion – your husband’s birthday. This reassurance even extended to a gesture from the hotel on arrival or at his birthday meal, but this was not sufficient encouragement for you to book there and then.

Although not mentioned in your review, the next call was regarding information on our golf handicap. Even if you required this information urgently, the handicaps for both men and women are clearly displayed under the golf section of the website and you could have called our golf shop for immediate confirmation.

You had obviously spent considerable time researching Bovey Castle on TripAdvisor, you could not have failed to notice the vast backlog of praise for Federico - stretching from our spectacular Christmases right through the year. Your experience of Bovey Castle is limited to a handful of phone calls that you have overwhelmingly misconstrued as poor customer service; as a business that seeks to constantly improve its product, Bovey Castle does not recognise your review as a source of viable criticism or suggestion for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Staying in one of the lodges in the grounds is the perfect solution for families with young children. The facilities in the lodge are superb - lovely bedrooms with excellent en-suite bathrooms - and a kitchen which has everything one could wish for, along with a comfortable sitting room, all to the highest standard. The ambience of the whole place is very relaxing and peaceful with the stunning views across the valley and golf course.

The Kids Club and indoor swimming pool provide perfect entertainment for the little ones, as well as the outdoor activities such as trampolining, tennis and archery. It would have helped to have had more eggs 'laid' so that the egg-collecting expedition each morning doesn't lead to too much disappointment for the younger children.

The service and the food in the bistro was adequate but not quite up to the standard one would expect in a hotel of this level.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A stunning location, excellent service and a beautiful room with views over the 360 acres of grounds! Afternoon tea on the Terrace was an experience to remember and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Enjoyed dinner in the bistro (though the pizzas were so big that we could not finish them). A beautiful swimming pool and jacuzzi and mini golf helped us digest our wonderful meals.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one with valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We did not stay at Bovey Castle Hotel but stopped for Full Tea.
Sitting on the terrace, looking at the amazing view -was fantastic.
Great service, kids friendly, great coffee, tea, sandwiches and cakes.
Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Talia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Wow.... for once the pictures tell the story, This place is as good as it looks, in fact better. Great location and setting, magnificent building and grounds. All the staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. For a special occasion or just a relaxing get away, this place ticks all the boxes.
The food, and wine list at the Edwardian, both first rate, as are the staff. The treatments, and the staff in the world class spa will help you unwind, as will the pool and sauna. But be warned, there are so many activities available here that a short visit may not be enough...you will want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,193 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
549 reviews
9.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range: £145 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a 5 AA Red Star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 60 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed decor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing