We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first visit to the West Country, and we were delighted we were staying in such a grand hotel set on the eastern edge of Dartmoor National Park. We opted for a special break offer which provided afternoon tea on our day of arrival. We were not disappointed by the quality and quantity of the sandwiches, cakes and scones or the magnificent setting in a baronial style grand hall with a real fire in the huge fireplace. We had chosen to pay a little extra for a Castle Valley room with views to the grounds and golf course and to the moors beyond. We ate in the more relaxed setting of the bistro and also the grander main dining room - and it's great having a choice of eating places. Bistro has fantastic views and a fine terrace and the food is good value for money. A quality burger came with a firm textured ciabatta roll and not an overly soft hamburger bun. And it's little touches like that that made the bistro meal enjoyable. The main dining room (and also the breakfast service) was overseen by a most attentive and helpful maître d' called David. I am convinced he never stood still during breakfast service on any day he was on duty and was always welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good with a selection of hot freshly cooked options as well as a cold breakfast buffet. I thought it would be a fine location for keen golfers with a quiet golf course in the grounds (well, it was quiet on June weekdays). And it has activities for children such as egg collecting at breakfast time with a daily falconry display for any guest. As with any large hotel we encountered the odd glitch but the friendly helpful service and the desire to put things right immediately meant we will definitely be back and would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    428
    205
    107
    43
See reviews for
546
1,075
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to Bovey Castle for the day to have a spa treatment and lunch for my birthday.From the moment we arrived it was like being in a fairy tale. the staff are amazing, the massage of the month was just the best massage I have ever had. we had lunch outside with beautiful views. the gardens are beautiful and the pool amazing, the only awful part was coming home. thanks for a v special day ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkatersSkaters31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our first visit to Bovey Castle was for New Year celebrations in December 2010. On that occasion we visited with friends and enjoyed the occasion and the hotel very much and determined to return again.

We returned earlier this week with an old friend and checked into our valley view rooms, both of which were very well appointed and the bathroom sparkled it was so clean. The views over the gardens, golf course and beyond were magical in the early summer sunshine.

The staff were all very helpful and extremely courteous. On our first evening in the bar we met Frederico the manager and were impressed that he recognised us from our previous visit and went out of his way to make us feel at home. They must have a very good tagging system that flags up previous guests, either that or he has a photographic memory! Whichever is true it simply underlines the attention to detail he and his staff strive to achieve.

The Edwardian Grill restaurant is spacious with excellent food served well in most pleasant surroundings. The bar and lounges are spacious, well-furnished and exude warm and atmosphere from the log fires.

Our stay was for two nights and on our departure Frederico, who had noticed our friend walked with the aid of a stick offered us a Golf Buggy to use to enjoy a visit to the extensive grounds and gardens. A really nice touch, which was very much appreciated.

We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Bovey Castle – it’s a great destination.

Room Tip: Ask for A Valley Room - the corner rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Committed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed on a tripadvisor deal and it was definitely worth what we paid. The castle and grounds are stunning and even in not so good weather, the walks are lovely and the nearby Ring of Bells pub is a real treat with lovely staff, great atmosphere and very friendly locals!

We were booked in a Castle Room which was a good size etc. but there was a very noisy fan on the flat roof outside. We were immediately moved to a smaller room with a smaller bed. Wine was also great. The only downside were the rather expensive gins in the bar before dinner. Despite a great selection, they weren't served to their full potential.

At the end of the evening, the very attentive restaurant manager checked in with us. I mentioned that there was more they could do with the gin. He gave me his card and asked for advice which I emailed the next day. Not only was this taken on board, he had also arranged gin training for staff with a supplier - very impressive customer service and flattered that my feedback was taken so seriously and acted on.

The rest of the staff were great too, particularly the reception staff who were all very helpful. I observed them being absolutely brilliant with families too.

The main reason for scoring 4 not 5 is that the Castle is in real need of some TLC in places. The spa and pool are fantastic. In comparison, our room was up an old battered staircase where the carpet was so worn, it was a health and safety risk. The decorating in places was shabby too.

It's not really 5 star in my book. However, if you don't over-expect, you should not be disappointed. There are many great points about the Castle and I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went with a friend for a groupon spa day which actually turned out to only be half a day which was a shame as we loved every minute. It was a surprise to be greeted as soon as we arrived and the car parked for us. Enjoyed coffee then lunch in the bistro, prices abit steep. We spoke to other ladies enjoying spa days as well and we have to say that we all felt slightly 2nd class as we were directed away from the hotel and the public rooms to use the spa area and bistro only. It seemed abit cheap that robes and slippers weren't included and you were having to go up and down stairs to change and use the pool then have treatments. All with a towel wrapped around you.
The setting is stunning and the drive to the hotel, over the moor, lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We came for a spoiling weekend away to attend a friend's 50th nearby. Our room (room 3) was on the ground floor and overlooked the Bistro Terrace. Had it not been raining heavily all weekend, diners on the terrace would have looked directly into our very nice bedroom so we were quite pleased about the rain which kept people in the Bistro and not on the terrace. As we were right next to the Bistro, there was a smell of food too in the corridor just outside our door. Someone who had obviously used the gym, turned up for breakfast in a purple sleeveless vest which was a bit of a surprise. Service was attentive and good. The public rooms are wonderful, and the food very good, but we were rather disappointed that the 'optional' service charge was added to every item on the bill, including accommodation, so we left feeling a little bit hard done by. No Wi Fi. No mobile signal for those who like to keep in touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would just like to say that not only has Bovey castle got wonderful surroundings, accommodation, dinning and facilities it also has brilliant staff and the manager was just superb. Had an amazing stay and will definatly be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonekendryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing