We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights for our minimoon. We wanted to completely relax and unwind and so chose a large country hotel which had everything we needed on site. We booked a package which included dinner on the first night, otherwise I would agree with the posts that say that the restaurant is rather expensive. The staff were lovely and left a card and bottle of bubbly in our room when we arrived.

We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the lovely sitting rooms with open fires in the evening. I would not agree with the post that described the decor as tired.

The swimming pool/spa area is one of the best I have been to. There is a lovely area with a view over Dartmoor.

Our only criticism is that when we came to pay, a hefty service charge had been added to the bill for everything - room, dinner, spa etc. Good service should be included in a luxury hotel as it is part of what you are paying for. The staff removed this straight away when asked, but if this had been our first weekend away together it could have been quite embarrassing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    428
    205
    106
    43
See reviews for
545
1,072
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is set in wonderful grounds which are well maintained. There is an 18 hole golf course and a range of activities including shooting and archery. There is a good spa. The hotel building itself is quite impressive but there is a need to attend to some of the décor. The food was good to excellent but let down by poor and slow service in both the Edwardian and Bistro restaurants. Sounds perfect .... well unfortunately the staff really need training if they have aspirations to make it 5* - language was sometimes a problem - the odd smile might have helped.
Having said that the doormen were excellent.
I stayed when the hotel was not very full and my offer gave me an upgraded room - a Castle room. It over looked the courtyard and kitchens and the noise of the extractor fans did not help you sleep - or enjoy the quiet of the country!!!!
What a shame we were not given a room with a Dartmoor view - that's what most people want. I thought the offer was to encourage to return??
We may return but I hope my when standards have improved and the new owners the Eden group get things sorted - the building in such a fine location deserve it!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 29. Ask for a room with a view over the Moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Went to Bovey Castle for afternoon tea. The hotel is in a fabulous setting and valet parking was a nice touch, with very professional staff. We ate our afternoon tea in a lounge, overlooking a fireplace...would have been wonderful in winter months. The lounge was decorated to a high standard. The afternon tea was good,have had better (however location and hotel made up for it). Travelled on a beautiful summer's day and walked the grounds which are simply stunning. This hotel is very relaxed despite it's grand appearance. There is also a spa and an outside terrace overlooking grounds. I would very much like to stay again in the hotel, it is expensive however there are deals to be found for example on travelzoo. Await my next review when i hopefully stay overnight !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I saw in the press a few weeks ago that the property had been sold,and it seems that over the last decade it has changed hands several times,always for several million less than had been paid for it - I have to assume that it's not easy to make a profit from the hotel,despite the sums charged to customers.
And this is probably because the operation is in some ways flawed - the hotel building is imposing and the public rooms stunning(even if a little worn in places),the grounds are beautiful,and the bedrooms spacious and comfortable. The dining room is beautiful and imposing,but here the cracks began to show - dinner,despite all the flummery,was really quite ordinary,and the much hyped steaks were little better than the average pub offers.Puzzlingly,the flunky taking my order sucked his teeth when I asked for my rump steak rare - it might be better medium,he said, more tender that way! Look, even Tesco's finest is tender when it's cooked properly. Breakfast next morning was worse - it took half an hour to come,and then was wrong.
By and large the staff were lovely and the service great,but the general air of pretension exemplified by the frankly laughable "loyal retainer" men's uniform of tweeds and knee socks may play with overseas visitors,but makes it seem like you're being rather taken for a ride as you pay the enormous bill at the end of your stay.
All in all, worth a visit if you like a faintly Disneyesque view of what a country house hotel has to offer, but it could be so much better. I fear it may drop a few more millions in value over the next few years if new management doesn't take a radical change in direction...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WesthayRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is fabulous, the building is beautiful, the hotel is dreadfully tired with fraying furniture and old decor in the rooms. The grounds are gorgeous. But Frederico, the manager, did his utmost to make everything as perfect as he could with what he had to work with. The chicken coop could be far bigger as children love this and stock it with different breeds to get different kinds of eggs. The cooked breakfasts were good but the fruit salad on the buffet, always the acid test to what care restaurants place on quality, was cheap. All in all, we would go back for the wonderful surroundings and for Frederico, who puts his heart and soul into making guests happy. They just need to upgrade the hotel. The only other complaint I have is that there was a wedding on and though we were told the guests would be in the other pavillion, they drifted into the bar afterwards and the bar can be open all night hence the noise disturbance was dreadful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a real find. I would have to say credit where credit is due. The Staff were faultless and could not have been better. The Hotel is stunning, it was like walking onto the set of "Downton Abbey" with staff members wearing plus fours, roaring log fires and views of Devon's beautiful green countryside. I will definitely return. Be prepared for a large bill though, room prices are high and dining in the main restaurant is eye watering - my wife's starter was £17 and a half decent bottle of wine was £50. I'm saving up already though...lol

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davetorquay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If like me you like a golf course that is interesting but manageable then this is for you.
Streams clear as they can be, good greens, good grass on the fairways. Bunkers where they should be. topped off with views to die for.
Down side, if your well heeled their isn,t one, if not stay away!!!!
Five star all the way and worth most of the pennies, it is like a castle but very well appointed.
I only go for the food and the golf so cannot critic the pool / spa etc.. but if it is like the rest of Bovey then it will be very good

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing