We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bovey Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Woodforde(Moretonhampstead)
View Hotel
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveller rating
1,627
496
232
122
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,627
496
232
122
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teafalconry displayservice chargewestern restaurantsandwichesthe hotel managervalet parkingbeautiful groundsmain restaurantbirthday treatpublic roomshis teammember of stafffudgespecial occasionsloe gin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,235 - 1,240 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Supeior castle rooms are small, low ceilings and very hot we asked to be upgraded, although the castle room was initially an upgrade, and the room which we were offered for an extra £45 was far superior.
The carpets on the way to the superior castle room were worn and threadbare and in some places were a trip hazard.

It was large, airy and light.
Choose room 14 if you are booking

We went to play golf. Not to be recommended as greens were dreadful. If they want to attract upmarket golfers they need to address the state of the greens.

Room Tip: Need to overlook the garden and golf course. Only stay in rooms above superior castle room category
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked the champagne afternoon tea for my mums birthday, and whilst the castle and location are stunning and faultless, for a 5 star hotel the service was terrible. We waited for 30 minutes for someone to come and take our order, and as no one turned up I had to go and find someone. The waiter didn't even apologise! The table we had was not a table but an old footstool with a table cloth on it, we couldn't balance the drinks or cake stand on it! Just not what I would expect for a pricey 5 star. Needless to say we asked for the 12 per cent service charge to be removed!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Silk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked our stay on a special offer which made it much more reasonable. We thought that although the hotel was dated at times this added to it's charm with wonderful grounds, open log fires (although didn't feel this was necessary to be lit in June and did mean that we left with our clothes smelling of smoke and did try to stay away from this lounge). However, the special offer, although very reasonable (still expensive in comparison to a lot of other hotels even on the offer) but it was the 'tips' that although were stated as being 'discretionary' it's very difficult to ask the receptionist to remove at the desk on departure. These 'tips' were explained to be for buying wedding presents, presents for birth of babies of staff, paying for English lessons etc...all of which I would have thought would be at the discretion of staff to have a collection or for the management to pay for English lessons if felt necessary. We only stayed one night but had £22 added onto our bill for tips which I would not have normally paid for a one night stay.

We did see an amazing falconry display on the Sunday morning but were not impressed by the falconer, although very amusing, felt it in rather bad taste when he made references to the Cornish being 'interbred'...perhaps he needs to think about his 'jokes' to not offend anyone - this is the world we live in I am afraid but I know I don't make jokes about blondes, the irish, etc as these would be seen in bad taste and would not wish to offend, and nor should he!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank thewillows3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We can not thank the Manager and Staff enough for making this day so very special. From the moment we arrived the greeting by staff, was excellent. We were taken to our Lodge and then on to the Summer House where we had a champagne afternoon tea. What a fantastic experience. Highly recommend the Spa, the staff were very friendly and professional. The whole experience was wonderful , accommodation , food and staff. Our special thanks to Frederico for organising such a memorable day. Will will definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having stayed in the lodges at bovey for many years on business and pleasure we once again enjoyed a wonderfull break in this very special part of the country.

It is however not just this special location that ensures a stress free break but the staff as well. The helpfulness and happy nature of the team is highlighted by Fredrico whose professional and polite mannor is a major factor in our decision to frequently return to Bovey Castle, does this man ever sleep. Thanks again Fredrico for making our stay so special

Chris Kite

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burleightravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews