We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, remarkable setting”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
Natick, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent staff, remarkable setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The setting, the hotel and the staff were excellent. Genuinely friendly and extraordinarily accommodating.

Federico Aresti, the Hotel Manager, and his staff including, but not limited to Norm, Derek, Grace, Ian, were very personable and made the experience spending time at the Castle, even richer.

Our only issue was with the dinner experience. While you could not ask for a nicer setting, outdoors with the Castle on one side and an incredible vista on the other, the service was average at best. "At the end of the day", given the setting, we were very happy to have spent the "extra" time dining.

Room Tip: I would suggest the second level or above and unless you require one, avoid the handicap equipped ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    443
    207
    109
    46
See reviews for
560
1,116
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked a round of golf at the Bovey Castle Hotel with four friends. As you enter the hotel the scenery of the gate house and the drive to towards the castle was breathtaking. The views from the tees, of the fairways and the greens was very stunning. I would thoroughly recommend to anyone that they go and have around.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped at Bovey Castle 18th to 20th July for a friends wedding, the wedding was not a the hotel but it was recommended. The service was good, the food was good, the room was good, it is a little hard to find but if you have a satnav it should be no problem.

On the downside there is no signal for cellphones, there is however wi fi in the hotel, out side of that patchy is being extremely generous, the room was good however the loo in our room overlooked the courtyard so that re-arranging things could be embarrassing also the corridor, if you could call it that, to the loo was so narrow both my shoulders touched the walls.

Apart from the loo we had a relaxing two days but if we were paying we would not go there as it is a tad on the expensive side especially for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

On first appearances on entering the building and spending some time in the lounges, my initial observations are it's looking slightly tired - this is the same for our room (although still pleasant). However, the grounds, food, service were all impeccable and the Oak bar comfortable and cosy. We did the cocktail making with the bar manager Matt (i think he name was), who was so fab with us and we had a great time behind the bar whizzing up cocktails. The General Manager Fredrico makes this place. It doesn’t matter the time of day or where you were in the building, Fredrico always happened to be there making you feel welcome with his contagious personality and personal attention. The falcons guy was fab too. I hugely enjoyed the display - was really worth seeing it. The spa was the only negative for me. Although the staff were friendly and welcoming, the massage it's self wasn't amazing and doesn’t compare to others I have had elsewhere. The pool area also looks tired and in need of some love. The food in both resturants and the afternoon tea was exceptional. They had no problem with me requesting something not on the menu due to my picky food requirements. Nothing was too much problem. Overall will definitely come back. Thanks all for a great weekend and making us feel special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward0m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel for children of all ages. The children had a marvellous time at the Bovey Rangers where they did archery, clay pigeon shooting, float fishing, trampolining, tennis, Grandparents also enjoyed it. Staff wonderful particularly Federico who always gives us a great welcome and is one of the reasons we always come back. Bistro staff were also fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a very friendly and comfortable hotel. It is very dog and children friendly. They go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as they can. Nothing is to much bother. There is a lot of things to do here. The wild bird display daily is amazing. Spa is good. Shooting, archery, golf swimming, something for everybody.

Room Tip: Try no. 18 with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went for full afternoon tea with my mother-in-law who was visiting us locally and, as ever, we weren't disappointed. We've had tea here several times in recent years and it has always been a lovely experience. The setting is beautiful and we walked in the gardens afterwards. Dogs are allowed - our Westie accompanied us and was given his own water bowl. My mother-in-law can't eat strawberries, but we were asked before tea was bought out if there were any dietary requirements - and as a small tartlet had fresh strawberries on the menu that day, they made her one with raspberries on instead. Service was swift - and the valet parking is a nice touch. We will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sipsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing