We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little bit of heaven in Devon...”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoyNomads
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven in Devon...”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Was going to leave quite a detailed review ranting and raving about how great this place is then thought it suffice to say, the place is SIMPLY AMAZING!!! You need to go and experience it for yourself. Think open fire, clotted cream, Devonshire bacon, idyllic garden, fluffy sheets, huge brass bath, lush toiletries, together with all the mod cons you could ever want (incredibly fast wifi!) The owner is clearly a perfectionist because she has thought about absolutely everything (thank you!) We were blessed with glorious sunshine but this place would be beautiful in any weather, we actually thought it would super cosy in the snow. We can't think of a single negative, except that we had to leave. We were so so impressed. We would have stayed longer but sadly the following week had already been booked so we continued our minimoon in a 5 star Relais & Chateaux hotel, which was no where near as gorgeous as Moorlandview cottage. We couldn't help comparing it and wishing we were still there. When we first booked we thought it was more on the pricey side but after staying there and seeing what was included, we knew that not only was worth every penny but actually great value. This is the perfect haven for a chilled honeymoon/romantic break but as it has 2 bedrooms it could also be used for a holiday with friends. We will definitely be back, hopefully on our anniversary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoil yourselves!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Quite simply gorgeous. Every room will make you squeal and the attention to detail is staggering. From Spotify on tap to mountain bikes to the epic visitors' guide and having your groceries unpacked. The villagers are lovely as are the wandering ponies. Go to the local pub and walk up a hill and buy your eggs from next door..... the yolks are almost red.

This is the perfect surprise treat if you're looking for quintessentially English cosy luxury. Even if you expect it after reading all the reviews it's still a delight when you arrive.

Thank you Suzy for posting my walking boots that I left by the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and reading where all the interiors and accessories were sourced. Great for copying ideas!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were glad of the heavy snow that arrived the day before we were due to travel as it gave us the perfect excuse to hunker down in this gorgeous cottage and enjoy everything it had to offer.

It is beautifully decorated with faultless attention to detail and is easily one of the best cottage rentals that we have ever stayed in. The plethora of walks across the local countryside are fabulous and the Ring O'Bells pub a mere minute or two away serves good food.

Thank you Suzy for all your assistance with our queries and for sharing your gorgeous cottage. We very much hope to return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'A BREATH OF FRESH AIR'”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the moment we entered Dartmoor we knew we in for a treat. I would strongly recommend The B3212 Route VIA Moretonhampstead into North Bovey as it truly beautiful especially if you are the passenger. We have never stayed somewhere so secluded before and being city people we were a little nervous. We needn't have been.From The moment we arrived at this beautiful quintessential thatched roofed cottage we felt as though Suzy, the owner, was literally with us. The details and information provided at the cottage to help us during our stay couldn't have been more perfect with every aspect of our stay covered.
The cottage itself can only be described as someone's home rather than a holiday let. Suzy has a fabulous eye for both taste and detail. From the Global kitchen knives to the White Room bedding to the comfortable and tasteful furniture the aesthetics were faultless. We were at home within an hour. The cottage was sooo cosy and comfy. Every detail and need was catered for with even a selection of wellies and torches. We spent the evenings blissed out in front of the coal fire after long lazy days walking and driving through the stunning Moors and of course eating and drinking in delightful local pubs and cafes. We did take some of our own food and even our juicer and really enjoyed our home comforts being part of the stay.
Suzys walking guides are spot on and we had great fun following her directions through what can only be described as another world. We felt like kids again as we went exploring everyday, discovering an enchanting world of flora and fauna.
Our drive to Ashburton ,through the Moors, in the middle of the day, was breathtaking and so memorable. We even purchased a stunning Victorian glass chandelier from one of the many antique shops there.
During our 3 night stay we managed a day trip to the seaside where we had fish and chips by the sea.
It was extremely difficult to leave Moorland View Cottage and we shall definitely be returning. We have already marked dates in our diary for 2013.
The final icing on the cake was on our return to Nottingham, we were told by friends how fresh faced and awake we both looked. They were not aware that we had been away.
If you need a break or have been stressed or ill or just want to get away from the world, Moorland View Cottage is absolutely perfect.
Next time we are hoping to stay for a week. Many thanks to Suzy and her little team. The best 3 nights ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway...”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Moorland View Cottage and for the second time we arrived late feeling more than a little frazzled by life. But waking the next morning from 8 hours of peaceful sleep in that bed that feels like a cloud we pulled back curtains to find a view that begged the question... have we died and gone to heaven? Outside beyond the perfect little garden and row of cottages was that dreaming church spire, the blanket of forest and the ancient rusty coloured moor bathed in pale winter sunshine. North Bovey is a very special location to spend a few days and reconnect with what is really important in life. It really does feel lost in time. The cottage is devine. Perfectly balanced interior design feels elegant, romantic and extremely cosy. It has a superbly equipped kitchen that is a joy to cook in, an amazing entertainment system and an open fire to keep you company. You will want for nothing. Like us you may even pray for rain so you don't need to leave. But if you do leave and want a perfect day then head out after breakfast for a 3 hour walk to Eastdon Tor on the moor (directions in the cottage), home for a light lunch, then to Bovey Castle for swimming and sauna, back home for dinner, a nightcap at the local pub The Ring Of Bells with its friendly locals who might have stepped straight out of a Jane Austin novel before returning home to watch a great film in front of a crackling fire. The only drawback of this cottage? Its not mine! Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in heaven
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irelandli...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Perfection. Relaxing bliss”
Reviewed 27 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

What can I say? How can I add to the other great reviews? why bother when it has all been said before? I guess, because a place like this deserves to keep on getting the consistently high praise that it does, and that to not write a review simply because there are lots already, would take away from what Suzy has achieved.

Yes, it is chocolate-box perfect. Yes, it is in outstandingly beautiful countryside. Yes the decor is lovely. But how can I encapsulate the entire package that left me feeling completely relaxed, refreshed and revitalised? Its all those wonderful details that make up the whole experience.

The little niceties: the fluffy bathtowels, the tiny details. Log fire all laid, Jar of marshmallows beside fire. Little toasting fork with which to toast marshmallows! Sigh! Would you believe even a jar of mint humbugs in the downstairs loo to freshen up while entertaining! mountain bikes, and safety helmets.... very carefully thought out information manual with multiple copies of each suggested walk + map so you can take a copy with you. Lovely toiletries and hand creams. A welcoming bottle of wine and little card! some high quality 'welcome' groceries included: breads, butter, biscuits, tea, coffee, herbs, spices, crisps, olives, so you can arrive in and chill immediately. the fact that everything has a little spot to be tidied away and stored so easy to access, easy to find immediately and yet the cottage remained clutter free even though sharing with friends and a small baby. Torches for midnight walks through the woods. I could go on..... they have thought of everything.

Kitchen: I am foody and love to cook. As well as us two couples staying in the cottage, we were entertaining on the Sunday for other friends who were driving up from their various homes within a 80 mile radius. I was concerned I would have difficulty in catering for them in such a tiny cottage, but the kitchen is so well designed, everything easily stored and to hand, lots of accessories and implements (even coffee grinder :-) ), so it all was very pleasurable and we cooked up a storm.

Bedrooms: Beds were SOOOO comfortable. The view out of the master bedroom window is to die for!

Bathroom: the huge copper and tin bath - you have not lived until you have sunk down in bubbles here.

Surrounding amenities and countryside:

Lots of walks of varying difficulties all within car-free reach of cottage; little stream at end of road; charming church in village ; woods, village green. Beautiful.

Ring-of-bells pub is great. Nice food. Characterful and accommodating. Staff were very welcoming to cheery (but rather vocal) small baby. The best bit is that this is a two minute walk back to the coattage, and with a warming meal and a few glasses of wine inside you and a blanket of the most amazing stars above, this will be a two-minute walk you want to extend.

Bovey Castle - I think I preferred the fact that I wasn't staying here, away from all the hotel guests, our own space, YET we had all the benefits of this stunning hotel. I had the pool to myself for an hour each morning! steam rooms, jacuzzi, sauna all thrown in with the price of the cottage. And with 20% of spa treatments, and afterwards stunning dining and lounge rooms to relax in with a glass of chilled wine in front of roaring fire, it is no wonder my friend and I abandoned husbands and baby to luxuriate here for an entire morning and early afternoon. And what a fantastic walk through woods and along streams to get here. I was lured into getting up really early on the sunny Sunday morning for a mountain-bike ride through the woods to come for a solitary swim. Heaven. So good that this is all part of the cottage package.

Exeter cathedral worth a look, but annoying guide kept pestering us and wouldn't leave us alone. Charming Moretonhampstead has nice shops for your provisions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little details and the stunning decor
Liked least: I have absolutely nothing negative to say
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howshaggy
Gatwick
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Everything that is written and photographed about this lovely cottage is true. It is situated right on Dartmoor and the surrounding walks are breathtaking. Suzy has thought of everything to provide 5 star comfort and luxury. It isn't cheap, but is worth every penny. The village is picturesque and so peaceful. Suzy has decorated and furnished the cottage to a high standard and you will come away wanting to refurbish your own home with some of her ideas. It was spotleesly clean thanks to her hard working housekeeper (I'm a stickler for a clean abode!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing