We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Refurbished -”
Review of The Fountain Hotel

The Fountain Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was made very welcome by the owners of this wonderful old Inn, located near the centre of Okehampton. The Inn has recently undergone major refurbishment, it remains the lovely old inn with all the charm, but, with the added advantage of contemporary glass doors in the old entrance way , which lead into the newly laid garden.

The rooms are all en suite and have recently undergone some changes.

The menu is fresh and new and extremely reasonble in price.

I would challenge any one to find a nicer place in Okehampton to stay or to eat!

Good luck with your beautiful 'new' Inn

Room Tip: ask for a room which backs onto the river - you can listen to the lovely calming river for the night
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We visited here on a quiet Monday evening for supper,the new owners had only taken over a few weeks ago,as long as they keep doing what they are then I think they will be there for several years to come.The menu is not vast but perfectly adequate,we enjoyed a basket supper which was delicious and very good value,real ale was reasonable,staff friendly and welcoming,we found a few cobwebs but hayhoe it adds to the character of the lovely building.Will visit again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemyjami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a bed and breakfast 16th century Inn on the main thoroughfare through Okehampton. The pub part is tired and in need of a refit. The riverside restaurant is no longer open so you sit in a small dining area for your food that is not inkeeping with what you would expect. I had an evening meal here and was suprised that my mixed grill arrived in a bowl rather than a plate. Cleanliness was, also in the corridor to the room only average as cobwebs could be seen on the light fittings. The bedroom I had though was pleasant although the milk in the tea making facilities was off.

I would not recommend staying here for the £55 B&B rate as cheaper, better accomodation is available in tthe town, at the present moment, I do sincerely hope though that the brewery who own it do refurb it tastefully as this could be a really nice place to stay, eat and use as a base to explore the moor.

Room Tip: You will either be at the front and be kept awake by the traffic... Or at the rear kept awake by the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Do NOT go here to stay or to eat. Went here for dinner in September '12, the restaurant was very quiet as was the garden/pub, we waited 1 hour and 5 minutes for our food to arrive and upon notifying the management of our disappointment at waiting we were met with a barrage of abuse from the OWNER! The other table in the restaurant were also very upset at having to wait an hour and 10 minutes for there food. The management made no attempts to so much as apologize to ourselves or the other table - instead stopping me mid conversation and turning his back on me to answer a telephone call - UNBELIEVABLE! We also got talking to another couple in the restaurant who had been LOCKED OUT of there room by the hotel for half a day and couldn't get in to the room to get changed/showered before dinner. The hotel did not offer them another room and it was half a day later and they were still locked out. This place is like fawlty towers - give it a swerve!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntoniaLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We recently satyed here under the new mangement, and were made to feel very welcome by the new manager of the Fountain who has recently taken over this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Manager apologied as he thought they were 'tired' in his words, but personally, I thought they we light and airy, with comofrtable beds and lovely clean bathrooms.

The food choice and quality was good and extremely tasty, we all had empty plates.

I would recommend you give this Hotel a try, I will certainly give the other hotels in Okehampton a run for their money....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDC1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I would definitely NOT recommend using this hotel. Apparently it has changed hands and this appears to give the new owners reason to give away a pre booked room. We had no apology, were shrugged at and treated with extreme indifference by a man who may or may not have been the new owner. It all of seemed to be a bit of a giggle to the rather silly barmaid.
Bearing in mind we were wet and tired from a long cycle we were very fortunate to secure an alternative. We stayed an absolutely lovely inn in Sheepwash which had professional staff, large rooms, excellent food and that was, I am happy to say A LOT cleaner looking!!!
I sincerely hope the Fountain Hotel can regain some of it's dignity as in the past it seems to have coped with providing quite good service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very helpfull staff, room was lovely-clean spacious.Excellant value for money. Plenty of free parking. Bar warm and welcoming and impromptu music and singing with locals was really good fun!! We would stay again. Also nearby the Rajpoot indian restaurant serves superb food really really good and the service was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
256 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#8 of 23 in Okehampton
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#2 of 23 in Okehampton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range: £80 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing