We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and comfort”
Review of The Knole Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okehampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Knole Farm
Ranked #6 of 25 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Knole Farm while visiting Dartmoor National Park and would definitely stay again if we come back to the area. The farm was beautiful and perfectly located to explore the nearby towns and the moor. The bed was extremely comfortable (pillow-top) and the breakfast was perfect, among the best of any we had on our trip. Mavis gave us excellent recommendations for a riding stable (Cholwell) and area attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anlu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This years break was our 25th consecutive family holiday at Knole Farm. Every year we are made more than welcome by Mavis and Martin and it now feels like our 2nd home. The hospitality is always exceptional, with Mavis always willing to go out of her way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The farm is in the perfect position to be used as a base to cater for many peoples preferences. Whether one is a walker across the moors, sightseer, beach lover, or general explorer, everything is within easy travelling distance.
Over our time we have had experience staying in all rooms available with great satisfaction. Each room offers up to date amenities, lovely décor and a very high standard of cleanliness. Rooms are cleaned daily and to a high standard. After a busy day out and about it is refreshing to come back to the farm to relax, with the opportunity of having a home cooked evening meal if already ordered. The food is always of a very high quality, hence why we always have a meal every night. Mavis offers 3 course evening meals to her guests and will always adapt her menu for her guests dietary needs. Breakfasts consists of fresh fruit and cereals to start and fruit juice followed by a home cooked breakfast of your choice with toast to finish, all of which we have tried and highly recommend.
What we particularly like about the farm is that you enjoy the country atmosphere but still have the modern amenities such as internet, television, hot showers/baths and kettles in each room. Also with the comfy beds and country atmosphere it allows for the best quality sleep available.
We would like to thank Mavis for every visit we have had. 25 years is an accolade in itself and one we feel privileged to have experienced, 26 is already booked!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent three nights at The Knole Farm on a B&B tour around Devon, Cornwall and Dorsett.
This is a brilliant establishment and working farm. They were shearing the sheep (about 250) when we were there, and it must be hard work running a farm and B&B as well. The farmhouse is lovely – very photogenic from the outside. The gardens are well maintained and huge, and included benches to relax in. At the end of the garden is a mighty view over a valley, with farmland to the horizon. This was a great base for exploring the moors of Dartmoor and Exmoor, and all the way to the coast.
Our room was huge – with a double and single bed as well as a wardrobe, dressing table and chairs. There was a bar fridge, tea/coffee making, TV and Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi signal was a little weak in the bedroom, but I had no difficulty in connecting, without a password, on smart-phone, iPad and laptop. The bathroom was also a good size, and the shower one of the largest I have encountered in England. Plenty of towels were provided, along with toiletries. We had no trouble with hot water.
Breakfasts were good, with a selection from a small buffet for cold and from a menu for hot food (cooked to order). And it was plentiful, making a good start to the day.
This was a terrific B&B in idyllic settings. My suggestion is to ignore the incongruous “terrible” review. Although everyone is entitled to their opinion on the basis on their own individual encounter, it did not reflect our experience at The Knole Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We returned to Knole farm where we had a lovely holiday 12 years ago,the standard of comfort and excellent service was as good as we remembered.So peaceful in such lovely surroundings.Mavis was so kind and caring when I lost my purse, helping me to cancel my cards and lending us some money to tide us over.All beyond expectations.We would like to recommend this B&B and wish Mavis every success as she enters her 34 th year of caring she must be doing something right!

Room Tip: Book well ahead of your planned holiday to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 137J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Fabulous B&B. The service, rooms, and food was excellent. Not only that ,but Mavis offered undercover parking in a barn for some maintainence to be done on one of the cars. We all felt as though we made new friends by staying at Knole farm. Beautiful gardens tended by Mavis bring bird life around the home. An excellent starting point for those who wish to walk the moors. I can't speak more highly of Mavis Bickle at Knole Farm

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have just read the review 'Rude! Rude! Rude! and am absolutely astonished at this person's version of war and peace.

We have been staying at Knole Farm for the past 6 years and have just completed out 14th visit in mid June.

The welcome as always, was superb, the food fabulous, the accommodation and cleanliness second to none, and the internet connection faultless (with no wi-fi code needed).

If this person felt that the comment 'you can go where you like' was meant as offensive, she is totally wrong; at The Knole, you can go where you like. You can sit in the lounge all day, in the conservatory, you can spend the whole day in the beautifully kept garden with it's lovely vibrant shrubs and that most beautiful view of Dartmoor - Mavis will probably turn up unannounced with a pot of tea or coffee and sit with you having a chat.

I really can't fault the place, and trust me I'm the type who would if I felt it necessary.

Never mind Mavis, take no notice of the one neegative comment out of at least 300 positive ones - some people will do anything for a free night!! We will be back for our 15th visit, un-deterred, in October :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Knole Farm is a really marvellous place to stay. The rooms are superb, and to say they are excellent is an understatement. The service is not just efficient, but everything is done with such an air of cheerfulness, we felt that we were long lost friends, not part of a business relationship.
I have stayed at several B&B's all very good but The Knole beats them all.
The breakfast award is totally merited. I never had such breakfasts for choice or quality.
My friend and I are not great walkers, but found plenty to keep us interested round about. It was an excellent holiday.The efficiency, kindness, and sheer luxury we found at the Knole was beyond all previous experience. We will always be grateful to Mavis Bickle for her hospitality way beyond anything we could have thought possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
9.3 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#2 of 25 in Okehampton
219 reviews
6.5 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 25 in Okehampton
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Collaven Manor Hotel
Collaven Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sourton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knole Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knole Farm

Address: Bridestowe, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knole Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knole is a victorian farmhouse and situated perfectly for many activities in particular Spectacular walks and glorious Tors to climb. The Knole is only 1 mile walking distance to the open moorland. Most enjoyable ways to see the moors in the saddle away from the hustle and bustle from city life.There are many things to do near by and to enjoy the freedom and open space no one could want more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Knole Farm Okehampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing