We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Widefield Farm
Ranked #12 of 25 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We found Little Widefield Farm by happy accident a couple of months ago and have just returned from our third stay there - twice in the B&B and once in The Lookout, which is the self-catering apartment. It's a lovely place, in a gloriously peaceful setting away from the road and with spectacular views of the surrounding fields and hills.

Chris and Danielle have gone out of their way to make staying with them as comfortable, relaxing and luxurious as possible, and they are very welcoming. Each bedroom in the B&B has an en suite bathroom, plus thick white dressing gowns and plenty of towels. Each room has a television, a tray laid with cups, saucers, teapot, biscuits and a good selection of teas and coffees, with jugs of fresh milk in the fridge in the dining room. The beds are supremely comfortable.

Breakfast is taken at the big table in the dining room. You can help yourself to cereal, yoghurt, etc (when we were there we were given a delicious fresh fruit salad each morning), and then can you have a wonderful cooked breakfast. When we stayed there, the eggs came from Chris and Danielle's own chickens.

The Lookout, which is the self-catering apartment, is equally nice and comfortable. It's well equipped with pretty much everything you need. Terrific!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We chose this from the net as a place to stay for a night between other visits to relatives and friends. It was a first-rate choice. The place itself is in a beautiful position but it is the management that stands out: a lot of thought must have gone into designing the spaces and how to look after guests. Chris and Danielle are friendly, efficient and great to talk to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just back from a few days at Little Widefield and cannot praise it highly enough. A perfect spot for relaxing or getting out on the moor for the more adventurous. Chris and Danielle are great hosts who cannot do enough for you and the rooms and BIG breakfasts cannot be faulted. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevMacEllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Bath
Reviewed 13 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A superb bed & breakfast - shame we only stayed for one night. Exceptionally comfy bed, a super en suit shower room very clean and excellent breakfast and charming hosts - what more could you want. We'll be planning to return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

So happy we chose this b&b to stay in after going to a wedding locally.

The room we stayed in - the Hatherleigh - was beautiful, with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in! All modern, immaculately clean, and with lovely teas, coffees, cookies and choccies! More fluffy towels than we knew what to do with, snuggly dressing gowns and a super power shower!

The breakfast menu was great and the food was fresh and delicious! The dining room is lovely too - really charming!

Chris and Danielle are such lovely hosts - so friendly and welcoming.

Had a lovely tour around the farm, met some sheep and chickens :) added a lovely extra bit to our stay.

Overall, we cannot fault this place whatsoever and would recommend to all. The 45 excellent reviews before ours are certainly all justified!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelzbelz_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was the first time I had ever used a b&b as we usually go to a hotel and I'm so glad I chose little widefield farm to stay at ...... it was JUST PERFECT !
Lovely contemporary clean & very comfortable room & briiliant night sleep !...breakfast well it was just DELICIOUS & plenty of it .... It filled us that much we didn't need to buy any lunch at the zoo we visited on our way home !!
A message from my daughter Libby ( age nearly 4 !)
" she loved her little bed & slept very well for 12 hrs ! & loved her breakfast but most of all she loved your pony & would like to thank you for letting her have a look around your farm at all your animals "
Thank you for a perfect stay & we would definitely use your b&b again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lishy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
6.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 25 in Okehampton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 25 in Okehampton
67 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Hook Holiday Cottages
East Hook Holiday Cottages
#8 of 8 in Okehampton
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bracken Tor
Bracken Tor
#5 of 8 in Okehampton
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Widefield Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Widefield Farm

Address: Little Widefield Northlew Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Widefield Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Little Widefield Farm Okehampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing