We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtenay Restaurant at the White Hart Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Courtenay Restaurant at the White Hart Hotel
Ranked #49 of 58 Restaurants in Okehampton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just returned from a meal at the White Hart. I had plaice with warm salad and new potatoes and my wife had brisket with coeslaw and wedges. Finished off with cheese board. Food of a high quality as was service. Very friendly service and efficient. No complaint other than for the price, maybe a slightly larger portion. Will visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGJMoyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
okehampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A ghastly meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We decied to visit the local carvery at the White Hart on Sunday 14th July, 2013.Oh how we wish we had not. On arrival there were several people eating but no staff present. We seated ourselves by the door awaiting attention which came after a few minutes. On being seated in the restuarant we ordered drinks which duly arived after a short time and stated that we had booked for the carvery. A chef eventually came to carve the meat which was already on deisplay together with assorted vegertables. The choice was stark. Beef or gammon.We both opted for the beef. This proved to be tasteless and tough. The roast potatoes green beans carrots red cabbage and parsnips were all luke warm as was the meat. My wife had to ask for another knife which needed to be sharper because she was unable to cut the meat. We decided to have a desert which was at best edible but over priced. Frankly not a very nice lunch at all. It was disappointing as this was out third visit. The first was very good. The second visit not so good and this third and definitely final visit awful. They also need a dress code. I do not think people in vests should eat in hotel restuarants.

We discovered on eating that the tables had no condiments and I had to ask for horseradish sauce. Since beef was on the menu the horseradish sauce ought to have been readily to hand. Not a nice experience for a carvery at all. They clearly need a different butcher and a chef.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johntruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage Dorset
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a roast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

A top quality roast dinner, with choice of meats for under a fiver!
"IMPOSSIBLE!!!" I hear you say, but it's true. If you don't belive me, try it for yourselves. Very friendly staff too, especially Lucasz.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Looe, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another quick stop on holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had been holidaying in Wales & decided to leave the M5 & stopped here for Sunday lunch.
We had a drink in the very pleasant bar with friendly staff. We were taken into the lovely restaurant by an extremely helpful waitress & shown to a comfortable table. There,we were served at the , by a cheerful chef. Roast beef ( as much as we wanted) with lots of fresh vegetables, lovely tasty gravy & all the trimmings. For pudding we had an apple pie (homemade) with custard & freshly brewed coffee to finish. Considering we hadn't booked & they were busy, it was a very nice experience & comes highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

we had a table booked for 7.30, we were running late and turned up bang on time to find there were no tables ready...which is fine not a problem we went into the main bar, which could do with a refurb, and waited to be told our table was ready.

after we were seated a member of staff quicky took our drink orders, then we waited and waited and our menus were taken away, were we asked for our order no! so i went to the bar and placed our order. then we waited again we were told our staters were taking so long becuse they were so busy with the pizzas. when our starters turned up it was not worth the wiat, threee tiny thai fishcakes with a huge amount of cucumber and at 6 pounds was far too expenisve

the mains however did make up for the disapointment, i had the venison steak and my girlfriend the honeyglazed duck, both very well pressented and good portion sizes. such a shmae we didnt get the mains untill 9pm!

i can not fault the staff either only two gents working and were rushed off their feet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AGS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtenay Restaurant at the White Hart Hotel also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Belstone, Okehampton
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Courtenay Restaurant at the White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing