We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Okehampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Good price. Friendly, professional staff. Quiet. Easy access from A30. Comfy bed. No problems. Only thing is in hot weather could do with windows that open a little more and also net curtains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    59
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
79
73
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent over night stay, very comfortable! This stay is ideal for anyone the room was basic but clean and for under £50 it added real value and was easy to book online and find just off the A30. Will be staying again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and standard of this travel lodge, it was in a quiet location and suited our needs on route to a family wedding I would recommend it to anyone who would want to stay there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here after playing for a wedding down in St Ives, and needed somewhere that was further North so we didn't have to far to travel. I chose this hotel as it was on the A30 with easy access, and Travelodge's always seem to provide good value for money. Booked two rooms and we turned up at 2.30pm hoping to chance our arms and get into the rooms before heading South. The receptionist was fantastic and checked us in early without a fee which was great meaning we were able to be on our way much faster.

The rooms have benefitted from the Travelodge makeover that seems to be going on Nationwide. The beds are nice now (although I don't think I'd want to have one at home as the literature in the room says you can!) and there was a selection of pillows. Normal tea and coffee sachets with UHT milk were in situ, but the kettle was very dirty and could have done with a clean at least, or possibly replaced. Didn't turn on the TV but it looked pretty new, and I'm sure sufficed.

My main issue with Travelodge's is that the shower facilities are always very much second rate. I've always thought they should have a number of rooms with just a shower cubicle-most people I know shower over bath anyway-and this would mean you would n't be crouching under a low-pressured drizzle in the bath. Some people may think I'm being picky but it's a common issue in all the TL's I've stayed in.

Can't comment on food as we were not around for long enough. There is a vending machine in reception selling snacks and drinks but this had virtually nothing in and could've done with a restock. The Little Chef next door looked pleasant enough and there are menus in your room so you can get an idea of the kind of thing they are selling. Value wise it seemed ok.

Overall good stay, and it was peaceful! Woke up ready to start the new day feeling fresh so this has to be job done for Travelodge. Remember you are not buying a 5 star experience, more somewhere to lay your head. I think sometimes people forget this and expect the world. For the money, in this example, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back of the hotel, that were not overlooking the car park. I can imagine there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel to be exactly what we needed. Right off the road ( ideal place tl break uo the journey) to just park up, Little chef next door and a comfy bed. Staff where really helpful and it was reslly quiet place. Great value for money for a family of 4

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first stay at a 'refurbished' Travelodge, and many thanks for the experience. The new bed gave an excellent night's sleep, the new décor works well and the staff are friendly and helpful. The Little Chef next door was also very friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well I must say I'm pleasantly surprised and genuinely impressed! Travelodge have upped their game to get close to premier inn and on this showing they are almost there! Great location,very clean room and very comfortable bed! Little chef next door was great too! Only one minor moan was the shower wasn't very powerful but was still ok. Well done travelodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
6.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down

Property: Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
Address: Exeter Road | Merrymeet Junction, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 2QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Hotel Okehampton
Travel Lodge Okehampton
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing