We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and excellent food”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Okehampton
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The white Hart Inn in Bridestowe is a delightfully charming 17th century village pub. Set in the centre of this popular West Devon village, there is a warm welcome to locals and visitors alike. Appetising home cooked food at affordable prices is available, along with an excellent range of real ales, ciders, largers and wines. In the warmer months outside seating at the front of the pub provides an ideal location for alfresco relaxing. With a small river running alongside the pub and through the centre of the village it is a most picturesque setting. For the cooler months log fires offer warmth and cosiness to the two bars where the seating is arranged informally ensuring a relaxed atmosphere and inviting ambiance. Children are most welcome as are dogs with waggy tails. There are regular events from quiz nights to live music, in addition to key sporting events on TV. PLEASE NOTE WE ARE NOT WEATHERSPOONS
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Extremely warm welcome from the owners when we arrived and the food was excellent. Good menu and nice range of dishes, I chose from the menu and my husband had one of the specials, both meals were excellent, well presented and good value. Lovely atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Spikeybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne W, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for your positive review, it is much appreciated. We love all that we do in our 17th century Inn and making our customers happy, through warm welcomes and serving excellent food, is at the top of our list. We have been in our pub for just over a year now - and loving every minute of it! It's made all the more rewarding when our customers are happy. Please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely pub, old worldly feel, and excellent staff, expect good pub grub is usually served, but we went as a very large wedding party group over a few hour period on a very busy night. They had laid on a special menu only for us, but I am very sorry to say it did not live up to expectations. The food was prepared on a large scale and very disappointing and a lot of food was not eaten and therefore wasted. I know a lot of the guest felt the same. I did see the normal food that was being served in the bar and it looked delicious, I wish we could have had this, I felt very hungry and jealous watching it go to the other tables. Traveled a long way from Scotland that morning so we were in need of food so were doubly disappointed, As there were a lot of people in our party from Devon I feel you should have taken advantage of the possible further business and served much better food, you done yourself a disservice by serving the food that you did.

1  Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne W, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated - I always like to hear feedback from our customers and have the opportunity to respond. After a long drive from Scotland I agree you would be looking forward to a hearty meal and the opportunity to relax and socialise at the end of a tiring day, so all this was taken into account when the evening meal was planned and the bigger of our two bars was booked for the private function - the special menu was exactly as had been agreed and home made using local produce: sweet and sour pork, vegetable chilli, beef lasagne, chicken curry and fish pie; with poppadums and roast potatoes as extras. We had been asked to cater for up to 50 people, who would be eating in small groups between 6.30 and 8.30 in our Widgery Bar.
As it turned out only 29 people arrived in the latter part of the evening, all within an hour of each other - clashing with our booked tables in our Buzzard Bar. I am pleased you said that you were looked after well by our staff as they worked hard to serve everyone at the same time. We had one wedding group of 9 people who had a delay with meals for 4 of the group as the meals had been taken to two tables by mistake - we gave a round of drinks to all 9 people in that group not just the 4 who had to wait to make up for our error. We had numerous compliments about the special menu that evening - so am at a loss to understand why you are so scathing.
Had we know such a small number would be attending in the wedding party we could have easily provided meals from our usual menu - all we ask is for a pre-order to help us prep up in advance. We turned away many customers that evening (walk-ins and those who had tried to pre book) because we were expecting such a large wedding group (large in terms of what our 17th century village inn can cater for) which we found to be very disappointing as we could easily have catered for them between 6pm and 7.30pm.
Yes we are a busy little pub - as relatively new owners, in just over 12 months we have completely turned this pub around to make it the thriving destination local that it is. We have many returning locals and not so locals - something we take much pride in - and strive to provide excellent food, excellent service and excellent surroundings. I am sorry that you were jealous of our other customers - not a nice way to feel - but this could easily have been avoided with more careful planning of numbers at the point of booking the evening. We did not receive any criticism on the evening about the food - had you said you were disappointed with what you had, of course we would have done whatever we could to have rectified the situation.
I will bear in mind all that you have fed back to us, when planning for future large groups, I completely understand how it must feel when being served from a special menu when others around are having a wider choice - this must be made clear, in advance to the customers in the larger group, to avoid any feelings of inequality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were staying in self catering acc at Cherrington Bishop & had out midday Sunday lunch here. Beef. I can honestly say it was the best we have ever had away from home. Not only could you cut it first time it was SO render but you could actually chew & swallow with the rest of the mouthful! makes a change from having to spend more time chewing than actually eating. Seriously though, this was a superb meal, lovely, tasteful surroundings with efficient, friendly non-obtrusive staff waiting on. I wonderful experience-we could have sat there all day enjoying the White Hart.
We met up with old friends later in the week & one of them came back with us for the evening & of course, we ate at the white Hart. Again, a superb meal & superb service. w all three ordered different meals and ALL were 100% perfection. Well done to all at the White Hart we will be back. Needless to say, we HIGHLY recommend the wonderful White Hart to all. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne W, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write us a review, each and every review means a lot to us. We source our meat from a local butcher (A.L.Martin & sons in Okehampton) to ensure we always serve a quality local product. You can't rush a roast joint! Slow cooked after a night marinating in wine ensures a melt in the mouth meat, such as the one you describe, it's very gratifying to hear our food has been enjoyed in such a mouth watering way. I'm delighted you made a return visit with your friends, who were equally pleased with the meals of their choice. It's lovely when you find a place that you have enjoyed so much and are then able to have an equally good experience when you return with friends - being able to provide food of a consistently high standard is something we strive to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was a great surprise to find this nice pub. The staff here is very friendly and helpful and if you are here with babies they have got all you need to change them! Food is also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Federica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne W, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments -we try hard to provide a friendly and welcoming service. It's not always easy to go into unfamiliar pubs for the first time so we do try to go that extra mile to ensure all our customers and welcomed and made to feel at ease. Although we have very little space in our customer toilets for baby changing we do have a well equipped portable changing station that we are happy to provide upon request - we try to be vigilant and offer this before it is asked for to avoid any unnecessary feelings of imposition. I'm glad that your visit to us was enhanced by the facilities we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

treetops preschool staff and parents came here for their end of term night out and what a super night it was, the inn is very inviting, warm in decor has a lovely atmosphere and the super staff look after you well.
We had pre ordered which worked really well as there were so many of us, we ate in the restaurant which was spacious, well laid out and comfy. we all enjoyed the food which was excellent -,tasty,hot and good portion sizes. the waitress was very attentive which was super. A lovely varied menu at good prices, the bar is well stocked and very reasonable

Thank leygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne W, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a positive review for us - it is very much appreciated. Your pre order really helped us ensure everyone was catered for and that your food was served promptly. Our Widgery bar lends it's self very well for large groups, as it becomes a private function area, where our customers can wine, dine and enjoy themselves and not worry about disturbing anyone else - which makes the occasion all the more relaxed and enjoyable. It is lovely to hear you all had such a great evening - you are welcome to come back anytime. Our Widgery bar can be booked for large groups (20 - 50 people) lunch time or evening, and also outside usual opening hours for baptisms, wakes and other special occasions. We offer our usual menus or special menus to suit all occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
South Zeal, Okehampton
 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing