We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Carvery”
Review of The Countryman

The Countryman
Ranked #34 of 68 Restaurants in Okehampton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Just back from an excellent carvery here, choice of 4 meats, Ham, Beef, Pork, And Turkey, had a slice of each, all were very tasty, all very tender, and an excellent choice of veg to go with the Yorkshire pudding too, again all cooked to perfection, excellent friendly service from the moment we arrived until we left. The pint of Tribute was one of the best Tribute's I have ever had too, will be going back for more.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Super carvery, the best locally that we have had, will definately return, attentive staff, good desert menu, nice prices and most of all yummy food, lots of choice too

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

My parents had their Golden wedding celebration here. Really lovely food, very accommodating. Made them feel really special and everybody enjoyed the well organised and relaxing atmosphere. Definite recommended

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Had Sunday carvery. They were very busy as other times we have been so we had booked. The vegetables were beautifully cooked and a great variety. The meats were delicious. I would recommend the beef every time. It was tasty and melted in the mouth and was local. The chef told us where he had bought it which is always a good sign. The desert menu was extensive and there was a description of each one, so you could decide more easily which to pick. Each had a choice of ice cream or clotted cream as well. The only fault, if you can call it a fault, is that the sweets are too big. Half the size would be plenty.
We were too full for coffee but have had it before .

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Today was our 3rd visit to to this fantastic eatery, and won't be our last, absolutely superb food, today we opted for the weekday (Tues - Thurs incl) special, 2 courses of roast dinner & apple crumble & ice cream, for desert, at £5.99 per head Great Value for Money. We both opted for the roast beef, Turkey was the 2nd option, which came with roast potato's, Yorkshire Pudding & Horse raddish sauce, a fine plentiful selection of vegetables came separate to add as you wished to the large plate, the roast beef just melted, and the gravy was awesome. A cracking family run establishment who know how to look after & please their customers. We're back there this Sunday for their carvery, can't wait, as we've had this before, and it's the best carvery I have ever had the pleasure to come across & devour, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Countryman also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Whiddon Down, Okehampton
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Countryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing