We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for town & country but still under renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Upcott House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Upcott House
Ranked #9 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Handy for town & country but still under renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just a 10 minute sloping walk down into town, longer going back up. Owners friendly & welcoming. Breakfast lovely although we waited 20 minutes for the toast they had forgotten to bring. Rooms need updating - ours still had the 1970's Harvest Gold/Sunking bathroom suite with only a hand held shower, although the one next door had a white suite with shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower & you may have a better room than we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. Major refurbishment work is undertaken in the winter; this bathroom and the hall carpet are next on the list for refurbishment in 2011 as you were aware. With a property this size (52 rooms) you can appreciate that refurbishment is a rolling programme. You had booked a twin room with a balcony and modern shower room (one of the best rooms in the house) which you declined in favour of this room. We agree that the coloured suite is of a period and considered somewhat retro these days and it is the final bathroom due to be updated. However, everything remains clean and comfortable as confirmed in our recent inspection by the Dartmoor Partnership Sep 2011 and all previous quests have been more than happy with the room that you had. You are the first to complain. All others have found our accommodation to be of good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night last September and have been meaning to go back ever since (too busy until now). It is a really beautiful house with charm and caracter. The landlady is very helpful and friendly without intruding on your privacy. We loved the balcony which overlooks the garden, we had our breakfast served here which was lovely. We are hoping to stay again this week and will keep returning when we can get away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have just returned from my fourth stay at Upcott House, and the welcome was as warm as ever. There is something very special about this gracious Edwardian house and its lovely grounds, and returning to it is always like returning "home". This visit I even had the luxury of having one of the original Victorian WCs for my exclusive use!
I always sleep so well when I am there - thanks to the pure Devon air and the most peaceful atmosphere.
I now look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Book in good time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfcapener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Always a delight to have you stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed the Victorian W.C. We try to keep as many of the original features of the house while at the same time offering modern conveniences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

I stayed at Upcott house for two nights whilst working at one of the local supermarkets. This was a perfect location for me, but the main reason for booking this B+B as opposed to any other was the low price as I was on a tight budget. At £28 for a single room per night, this was the cheapest in the area, and provided me with a basic, yet comfortable, clean and cosy bedroom with a toilet and sink, and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, followed by a choice of cooked breakfast, then toast and tea/coffee. It was freshly cooked, a good sized portion and made with good quality ingredients. On the second day of my stay I needed to be at work early in the morning, and the owners provided breakfast for me even though it was much earlier than the usual breakfast time. They were both very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one. Having only stayed for two nights, and spending most of my time at work rather than in the B+B, I didn't get the chance to check out the rest of the house or the gardens, but from what I did see, they looked great too. Based on the room I stayed in, the price I paid and the experience I had at Upcott House, I would most definitely recommend it to anyone needing to stay in Okehampton, and would certainly stay there again myself.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We have been to Upcott House meny times and we keep coming back!!
Run by a lovely couple who are knowledgeable about the local area and will give you tips about what to do and see.
Breakfast was excellent and made with local produce.
All in all a good place to relax and get away from it all and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolts60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that you come back to stay with us with such regularity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

The bedroom was luxurious and spacious. My husband and I slept in a comfortable, queen sized four poster bed, whilst our children had their own single beds for the night in the same room. We had a balcony with a beautiful view of Dartmoor. The children could play in the garden in front of the house whilst we watched them from our room and the quiet atmosphere meant that we could relax and enjoy the countryside.

The house was grand with high Edwardian ceilings; a large, homely lounge with sofas to sink into and a bright and warm dining room to eat breakfast in.

The owners we very accomodating. We could have breakfast served in our room or in the dining room and there was a vegetarian option available. They were always in good humour and provided a lovely family environment for us to relax in.

There was a free, off-road car park to the rear and the house was only a 10 minute walk from the town of Okehampton where we could get a nice evening meal in a family pub/restaurant. During the day Dartmoor was easily reachable, but there was also a clear route to main roads to drive to the nearest beach or tourist attraction (eg. The Eden Project).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DartmoorVisitor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us and that you have come again to stay with us this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

This property used to be a boarding school in years gone by so it has the appearance of a very large estate home, with a nice view over the town centre and the hills beyond. Cannot comment on the view beyond that as it was raining quite heavily the time of our stay and the hills were in mist.

It is a 10 minute walk, downhill, to the town centre where there are a number of eating establishments. The B&B has a lot of information on restaurants and places of interest in the area. We used it as a base to explore Dartmoor the following day. The hosts were a very pleasant couple - he was always in good humour, she was a teacher and was easy to converse with. Breakfast was lovely and served in a nice large room with a bit of a view. The amount of food was just right and of good quality. Rooms were a bit on the small side and beds could use with an upgrade but they suited our needs. Parking area is off the road. Still, good value for money.

  • Liked — Location, information, breakfast, quietness
  • Disliked — Beds were OK, but have seen better days.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontYouKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upcott, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Thank you for your kind and helpful remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us good value for money. Your comments about the beds were helpful, after all we do not tend to sleep in them - you do. After a test sleep in some of our rooms for ourselves, we have invested in new mattresses in a number of our rooms over the last two years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#10 of 24 in Okehampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcott House

Property: Upcott House
Address: Upcott House Upcott Hill, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upcott House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upcott House is an Eco Friendly B&B. Set in 4.5 acres of Devon countryside in the Okement Valley overlooking Dartmoor, the location is peaceful but only a 10 minute walk from town. The house is an elegant Edwardian property - big but not a hotel - very much a family home. We welcome guests who have children and dogs. Buster our Jack Russell particularly enjoys the company. We endeavor to set a Green example to our guests in the interests of lowering our carbon footprint and offer a 10% discount to those who travel to us by sustainable means i.e. on foot, bicycle or electric car. We have two electric cars ourselves and for a small fee would be happy to pick you up from the airport or Exeter - there being no proper connection between Exeter and Okehampton after about 6.00 p.m. on the bus and no train connection at all. 90% of our goods and services are provided locally thus reducing the use of fossil fuel transport. We have a 10kw solar PV array in our paddock, rainwater harvesting, recycling, our own boreholes and practice energy conservation. Your breakfast will be served downstairs or in your room. It is freshly cooked and has either home grown, home reared or local produce i.e. our own eggs and bacon, home made preserves or honey from George and Margaret Tomkin from Vivian's Honey in Hatherleigh. Vegetarian and special diets can be easily catered for with advance notice please. There is plenty of off street parking, safe storage for bikes and an electric car charging station for your use. The grounds contain many species of bird life and the garden is a quiet and safe haven for children and adults alike. Make a visit to see the piggies while you are with us. They are Tamworth crossed with Sandy Blacks and very comical. Coming soon will be some goats in the paddock. Imported for their ability to eat our brambles and for their milk because we really like goats cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Upcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upcott House Okehampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing