We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great country house at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upcott House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upcott House
Ranked #9 of 27 Okehampton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Malvern
1 review
“Great country house at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The house has a great country feel to it, that doesn't disappoint once inside. I was met with friendly and efficient service at the door, with everything explained to me and made to feel welcome. My room was cosy, had a great shower, and provided a great nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely, with a nice option of home made apple juice that went down well. All in all, a well run, atmospheric country B&B at a fantastic price. Would visit again when in the area and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
18
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

From arrival to leaving the property which has almost finished being refurbished, but is well managed,we enjoyed our stay, no problems, both our boys enjoyed the friendly attitude towards dogs and the resident terrier; what a relaxed way of running a B&B. MANY THANKS, I do apologise for Rowan cocking his leg on the front door but I did clean it up and and spray anti male dog smells. Kay and John, thank you so much for a wonderful weekend; breakfast was spot on!The Staircase is something to admire.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: It was our first stay at Upcott House, so don't feel able to give much in the way of advice. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fagersta, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had booked 2 nights but on arrival we liked what we saw so decided to spend our remaining 3 nights in Devon at the same B&B. Stayed in room 3 with lovely views over the garden & hills. Great breakfasts with seconds of tea, coffee & toast if we wished. Very pleasant & friendly owners & the bathroom, toilet & bedroom were spotless. Located in central Devon so we were able to use the bus service outwards from Okehampton. Being animal lovers it was fun to hear /see Buster & the cats & hens. The only thing we thought might be inconvenient was the fact that the bathroom with no shower & separate toilet room were across the way but we seemed to be the only guests using them so it was like an ensuite.
Definitely recommend Upcott House & would stay again if we ever visited Devon.
2 travellers from Sweden-

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your extended stay and appreciated our home comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

When I drove into Upcott House my heart fell, I had stayed here five years ago and vowed never to return, but I had been won over by dog friendly and some good reviews.

As we pulled up at the house entrance, we were met by the contrasting sight of an electric
car charging point, smashed lavatory bowls, builders rubble and a skip and a scrap of paper on the door saying the owner was in the paddock and call her mobile.

The door opened as our host shed herself of her boots, the hallway was a building site - they are repairing dry rot - with dust sheets over furniture and piles of old carpets lying around.

The room (N0 2) was compact, just two feet between the end of the bed and the door onto the little balcony. The view was wonderful, and had the weather been better, it would have been wonderful to sit out. The room was recently redecorated and fairly clean, the ensuite was also new with a good power shower. The towels were a little small and scratchy, having been dried on the line. This was mid May, but Dartmoor is cold and so was our room, there was a promise of turning the heating on, but it did not materialise, so we shivered.

The bed had polyester sheets, which did not fit, blanket and eiderdown and when the bed was made up for day 2, the bottom sheet had not been straightened out when the bed was made.

I asked for wireless internet, as advertised (at £5 per day), was given a handwritten entrycode and password. It did not work, I found the husband, who gave me an differt code, which still did not work and he commented that this was either beause the walls were 19 inches thick or the BT line was poor and dropped out. (I was not charged)

The car park resembles a builders/scrap dealers yard with sacks containing what must be a yearts recycling.

The public rooms were dark, dull and depressing. The teapot on the dining room mantelpiece was encribed 'Faulty Towers', I am not sure if this was ironic or a warning!

Breakfast was good, you have to order the night before, the sausages were from their own pigs, (and I am told the bacon will be shortly) the marmalade was home made. However when my wife asked for mustard, we were given a jar of Waitrose essential with dried, caked mustard around the top. The coffee was lukewarm.

A former school which closed in 1964, many things appear not to have changed. Your host is a former headmisrtress and mayor of Oakhampton and helps run the community garden.....

This can be summed up as Faulty Towers meets Steptoe and Son with a touch of the Good Life, if that is what you want so be it. We will not be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diehard1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHouse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Why did you return if you had such a poor experience last time? Your comments are completely out of kilter with those made by our other guests staying at the time. Do stay somewhere else next time as we will definitely not let you stay in our house ever again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Upcott House. Our room was nice and clean and the bed was comfy. It was a little cold when we arrived, but warmed up after the boiler was stoked. The property itself is very impressive with a lot of history and lovely grounds. I'm sure in the summer it is fabulous (a little bleak near Dartmoor in January). The breakfast was nice, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I bought my husband here as a birthday treat, but would not come back. the bedrooms, needed a massive clean, tidy and decoration. The cooked breakfast was tiny, served on a side plate. We were not offered any seconds of coffee or toast. We also had a disappoining welcome and had to ring the doorbell 3 times before it was answered. We were not sure where we were allowed to go and it was not made clear, if the garden or sitting room were for our use and never anyone around to ask. We certainly would not return, it was very expensive for a third rate place and service.

Room Tip: Only go here if you really can find NO where else. I clicked on swimming pool, sorry, actually there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gully87654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpcottHse, Owner at Upcott House, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
We are sorry that were disappointed in your stay with us at our B&B. We are surprised at your comments as they are extremely inconsistent with other reviews and wonder why it has taken you 12 weeks to comment thus. Perhaps you would like to email us as we cannot find any entry on our booking database under the name of Gully or in our signing in book. Our rooms always receive a positive inspection by the Dartmoor Partnership who are impressed by the standard of our decoration and cleanliness as are the majority of other guests who have stayed with us as you will see from the comments that have been made. We are surprised that you had to ring the doorbell 3 times, this is unusual but it is was probably because one of us was in the garden or paddock as we also run a smallholding here on 4.5 acres or perhaps you arrived before the 2 o'clock checking in time. In our warm welcome to guests we make it extremely clear where the breakfast room and guest lounge is and also make our guests aware that the garden is open for all to use, sit or walk in. Our cooked breakfasts and home made preserves have received many positive reviews and are not served on a side plate. We would always offer a second round of toast and tea or coffee. As for the swimming pool we do not have one as we are a B&B and not a hotel and this is perfectly clear on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Country house with a warm welcome, relaxed atmophere, large comfortable rooms and views to die for. This is amazing value for money at under £50 a night. The bed was lovely, neither soft or hard. There was room for a table and easy chairs, dressing table and built in hanging space. There was fresh milk in your room, with breakfasts tailor made, and freshly cooked. To top it all, there was a sitting room, so you could meet up with friends/colleagues. The owners were there to please you, more like your hosts. Lovely grounds, which you are invited to use. I can't wait to have an excuse to go back. I might add that I use Premier Inn and similar throughout the year, but I'd far rather stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 27 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#10 of 27 in Okehampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upcott House

Property: Upcott House
Address: Upcott House Upcott Hill, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upcott House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upcott House is an Eco Friendly B&B. Set in 4.5 acres of Devon countryside in the Okement Valley overlooking Dartmoor, the location is peaceful but only a 10 minute walk from town. The house is an elegant Edwardian property - big but not a hotel - very much a family home. We welcome guests who have children and dogs. Buster our Jack Russell particularly enjoys the company. We endeavor to set a Green example to our guests in the interests of lowering our carbon footprint and offer a 10% discount to those who travel to us by sustainable means i.e. on foot, bicycle or electric car. We have two electric cars ourselves and for a small fee would be happy to pick you up from the airport or Exeter - there being no proper connection between Exeter and Okehampton after about 6.00 p.m. on the bus and no train connection at all. 90% of our goods and services are provided locally thus reducing the use of fossil fuel transport. We have a 10kw solar PV array in our paddock, rainwater harvesting, recycling, our own boreholes and practice energy conservation. Your breakfast will be served downstairs or in your room. It is freshly cooked and has either home grown, home reared or local produce i.e. our own eggs and bacon, home made preserves or honey from George and Margaret Tomkin from Vivian's Honey in Hatherleigh. Vegetarian and special diets can be easily catered for with advance notice please. There is plenty of off street parking, safe storage for bikes and an electric car charging station for your use. The grounds contain many species of bird life and the garden is a quiet and safe haven for children and adults alike. Make a visit to see the piggies while you are with us. They are Tamworth crossed with Sandy Blacks and very comical. Coming soon will be some goats in the paddock. Imported for their ability to eat our brambles and for their milk because we really like goats cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Upcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upcott House Okehampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing