We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cream tea”
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Nice cream tea”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but just popped in for a cream tea that came recommended via a web site. The tea offered two scones each with jam and real clotted cream along with a very large pot of tea all for under £10 for two. We sat in a lovely garden and enjoyed the calorie controlled experience.

The hotel itself looked an excellent place to stay and one we would keep in mind and the staff which we assumed to be the owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

You are warmly welcomed by the owners Adam and Lynette who immediately run over all you need to know and show you to your room without any fuss.

Our double room with adjoining bathroom was lovely as was the rest of the property, particularly the garden which is well laid out and ideal for afternoon tea and Lynette's homemade scones. There are also extensive grounds where you can walk dogs or just have a stroll. Beechwood is right in the Heart of Dartmoor so ideally positioned to visit all points of interest.

Breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in Devon and if you manage to secure one of the the tables overlooking the garden it is an added bonus on a sunny day.

The only very minor negative points were no Wi-Fi reception in bedroom and the TV was not flat screen and sited in a good position to view but hey the excellent points far outweigh these.

Adam & Lynette were excellent hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamboRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the Wi fi issue, due to being a Dartmoor cottage dating back to the 1860's with 2 feet wide walls in some parts of the house, it is unfortunate that the location of Room 5 does suffer from intermittent signal from the hub which is at the other end of the house. However Wi fi can be picked up in the guest lounge and dining room.
We note your point regarding the TV and they will be replaced with flat screen as they brake down and need to be replaced.
Kind regards
Adam and Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and enjoyable they were. This is a lovely B&B with very nice, friendly, helpful owners (including their very sweet dog!). Great location with lots of walking nearby (not that we managed any as it sadly rained the whole time). All areas and bedrooms were very clean and tidy. Our friends rooms seemed a bit on the small side but we had a family room which was fine and fitted a cot for our son. It had all the necessary things. The bathroom even came complete with some little bath ducks for our son to play with. The TV's could perhaps be placed better as they were small sets placed high up so quite hard to see! Nice, comfy beds so we had a quiet nights sleep. Breakfasts were very good and I believe they get their eggs from their own chickens in the garden which is a nice touch.

The only other thing I can think of is that it would be great to have had a light (on a sensor) by the parking area as it was a little tricky walking about in the dark until we got onto the patio which was lit. But that's it, overall a great B&B with lovely owners so highly recommended. Would definately stay again should we visit the area in future. We stayed in a further 3 hotels (all more expensive) in the days after our visit here and Beechwood was by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Beechwood B&B in April. We chose it for its central location in Dartmoor. We had the family room which has a double bed and a set of bunk beds. Lynette and Adam were great hosts; they made us feel like family. In addition to the great breakfasts (Adam makes his own seville orange marmalade), we also had dinner there one night (must be arranged in advance). The food was very good. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The family room is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AronG946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped to make your holiday memorable.
Adam and Lynette at Beechwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice b&b! Lynette and Adam are great hosts. My girlfriend and I stayed in the family room and contrary to the views of a previous reviewer, we found this room plenty big enough! The breakfasts were good. The communial areas were lovely.

We would definetely recommend this place and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigwi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I honestly cannot think of any B&B that is better or indeed better value than Beechwood. We stayed here in September and could tell it was an exceptional place. We came back for the tail-end of their Christmas break offer which we would love to return for properly.
It only has 5 bedrooms but everything is done to high standards - it comes as no surprise when you find out the owners have backgrounds in hotel management.

The house is full of character and the communal residents' lounge and dining room and conservatory are all decorated beautifully, with tartan rugs and fireplaces. The bedrooms have really comfortable beds and crisp white linens. The resident's lounge is the perfect place to shelter from any bad weather Dartmoor throws at you, and Adam and Lynette are totally used to guests spending the day there. The lounge has a whole bookcase of books to borrow and guitars that you can play.


The breakfasts are wonderful, and again full of lots of little touches that make it special. We had their evening meals as part of the Christmas break offer which were honestly fantastic - melt in the mouth rack of lamb; or rich chocolate tart, all home made. Normally the evening meal costs £17 for 2 courses which is very good value given how good the food is. The Christmas offer is more expensive than normal but it was lovely to be pampered with champagne and christmas cake on arrival, have little presents waiting for you on your bed, and have a very indulgent 4 course meal - mushroom risotto, salmon and prawns etc.

There are some good walks nearby - the moor, Grimspound (ancient hut village), or the woods at Bellevere. The owners also offered to pick us up if we needed it though a car is good. both Lynette and Adam are sincerely welcoming, chatty, nice people who will welcome you into their home as if it is theirs but the nice thing is that they've set it up so that you never feel as if you are intruding. In fact, it's all the quality of a high standard hotel with all the personal welcome of a small B&B.

Can't recommend it enough, really!

Room Tip: The twin rooms are a little on the smaller side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonky_from_the_shire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Came with partner to visit relatives in postbridge for first time .Easily located on arrival by sign on building.We were greeted in an appropriately friendly manner that made us feel comfortable and at ease . This greet was both professional and reassuringly informative regarding our one night stay. As we were waited on hand and foot i can honestly state we were suitably impressed to the effect that we will not hesitate to return . The choice and quality of food , beverages and service was first rate with a choice of vegetarian and special diet on offer. Met the woof and miaow and partner espied the resident egg producers along with very informative descriptions from both of our hosts of both beechwood surroundings and much useful info of the locals and the local area. Bedrooms were clean , tidy and well equipped as was bathroom.. Eating our breakfast afforded impressive outlook with cosy lounge armed with impressive bookcase and offer of musical instruments . Had to drag partner away from jigsaw in lounge also ! Would not hesitate to recommend. Finally our dedicated hosts were environmentally clued up taking up our health, safety and care as a personal crusade.

Room Tip: booked rooms one and two....spacious, good room temperature in both rooms with ample storage facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here on Dartmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,235 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Property: Beechwood B&B
Address: Beechwood Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing