We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SE London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as a mid way stop over on the way to the South West coast. We stayed in the family room, really comfy double bed and good size bunk beds (4 and14 year old).

Everything about the stay was excellent. The hosts/owners, Lynne and Adam are great people and made our stay welcoming explaining the rooms, the location and all the fine details. The room, like the entire cottage was exceptionally clean, a good size and comfy. It had a TV with free view, bath with over head shower and tea/coffee making facilities.

Although we had dinner at the nearby pub the breakfast was so nice with local produce, cooked by Alan. Extra bits to make the stay enjoyable we're the immediate surrounding - chickens providing our eggs for breakfast and the pond as well as Bob the resident dog!

We would recommend this place to anyone and is ideal for a one night stay or more if using this as a base. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staying at the Beechwood is a great experiance at loveley Dartmoor. Lynette and Adam are great hosts and made our stay even better. Great breakfast, amazing old house and a fantastic location in the hearth of Dartmoor. This was my second time at the Beechwood and I am sure I am back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent in three nights at Beechwood B&B during our trip through UK. B&B is located in small village in the middle of Dartmoor. We was warmly welcomed at the beginning and received comfortable bedroom for two. Accommodation and traditional English breakfast were perfect. We felt almost like home. Although the village is small, there are 2 Inns near. One about 5 minute from B&B, second about one hour but with fantastic view on Dartmoor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarmil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but just popped in for a cream tea that came recommended via a web site. The tea offered two scones each with jam and real clotted cream along with a very large pot of tea all for under £10 for two. We sat in a lovely garden and enjoyed the calorie controlled experience.

The hotel itself looked an excellent place to stay and one we would keep in mind and the staff which we assumed to be the owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

You are warmly welcomed by the owners Adam and Lynette who immediately run over all you need to know and show you to your room without any fuss.

Our double room with adjoining bathroom was lovely as was the rest of the property, particularly the garden which is well laid out and ideal for afternoon tea and Lynette's homemade scones. There are also extensive grounds where you can walk dogs or just have a stroll. Beechwood is right in the Heart of Dartmoor so ideally positioned to visit all points of interest.

Breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in Devon and if you manage to secure one of the the tables overlooking the garden it is an added bonus on a sunny day.

The only very minor negative points were no Wi-Fi reception in bedroom and the TV was not flat screen and sited in a good position to view but hey the excellent points far outweigh these.

Adam & Lynette were excellent hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamboRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the Wi fi issue, due to being a Dartmoor cottage dating back to the 1860's with 2 feet wide walls in some parts of the house, it is unfortunate that the location of Room 5 does suffer from intermittent signal from the hub which is at the other end of the house. However Wi fi can be picked up in the guest lounge and dining room.
We note your point regarding the TV and they will be replaced with flat screen as they brake down and need to be replaced.
Kind regards
Adam and Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and enjoyable they were. This is a lovely B&B with very nice, friendly, helpful owners (including their very sweet dog!). Great location with lots of walking nearby (not that we managed any as it sadly rained the whole time). All areas and bedrooms were very clean and tidy. Our friends rooms seemed a bit on the small side but we had a family room which was fine and fitted a cot for our son. It had all the necessary things. The bathroom even came complete with some little bath ducks for our son to play with. The TV's could perhaps be placed better as they were small sets placed high up so quite hard to see! Nice, comfy beds so we had a quiet nights sleep. Breakfasts were very good and I believe they get their eggs from their own chickens in the garden which is a nice touch.

The only other thing I can think of is that it would be great to have had a light (on a sensor) by the parking area as it was a little tricky walking about in the dark until we got onto the patio which was lit. But that's it, overall a great B&B with lovely owners so highly recommended. Would definately stay again should we visit the area in future. We stayed in a further 3 hotels (all more expensive) in the days after our visit here and Beechwood was by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Beechwood B&B in April. We chose it for its central location in Dartmoor. We had the family room which has a double bed and a set of bunk beds. Lynette and Adam were great hosts; they made us feel like family. In addition to the great breakfasts (Adam makes his own seville orange marmalade), we also had dinner there one night (must be arranged in advance). The food was very good. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The family room is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AronG946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped to make your holiday memorable.
Adam and Lynette at Beechwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Property: Beechwood B&B
Address: Beechwood Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing