We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Coming back from France in the morning tired after an over overnight crossing we were allowed to check in very early with a warm welcome and a comfortable room. Lovely position for walking, delicious home grown/locally sourced food, outstanding breakfast and personal service. Under its present owners this is a top ranking B and B amongst the best in the country.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank N502TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My girlfriend and I thought we'd take a weekend trip to the moors and were attracted by the price and the reviews of this place. We weren't disappointed. A very attentive but not over-bearing couple Adam and Lynette looked after us very well and always wore a smile. They made sure we knew where we were walking, informed us of the best places to eat and drink locally and even cooked for us the evening we arrived, which I should say was amazing food!
Top service, beautiful lounge, excellent pubs and walks, private bathroom.
Thank you Adam and Lynette

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthJJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at Beechwood for 5 nights which I really enjoyed. My room was really clean and very cosy. Adam and Lynette were very helpful at any time. When I went for walks they told me to say Hello und Bye so they knew I came back healthy, otherwise they would have gone searching. I had dinner twice which was very delicious, both times. Since I didn't have a car they offered to take me with them when they had to run errands. Also, the setting is stunning! You can go for beautiful walks and get to know Dartmoor quite well. I would recommend Beechwood without hesitation and I hope to came back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry the weather was so wet. - Typically Dartmoor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I recently made my third visit to this superb B and B, where Lyn and Adam provide just the sort of expert, friendly, unobtrusive service that is borne of a really high level of professionalism. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the sitting room (which has an excellent library) is cosy and welcoming, and the food (from local ingredients) beautifully prepared and very reasonably priced. The Dartmoor guide provided in the room is extremely informative, particularly for a newcomer to the region, and the house has the advantage of being situated in a most attractive pastoral valley, from which the high moorland is visible and easily accessible, but where one feels protected from its bleakness! It is close to the visitor centre in Postbridge and only a few miles from Princetown's excellent museum. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent a very comfortable night in this charming B&B and wished we had booked for longer. The hosts Lyn and Adam were friendly , welcoming and very helpful. We had a delightful double room upstairs overlooking the garden with a large bathroom for our sole use next door. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. There was also a very comfortable guest lounge downstairs with sofas,books and games. The delicious cooked breakfast was in the (potentially )sunny conservatory overlooking the garden. We also had an excellent dinner at the historic Warren House Inn about 2 km up the road. This is a beautiful spot to stay and definitely needs more than one night to enjoy the sights and the comforts of Beechwood.

Room Tip: Upstairs double room overlooking garden is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Exactly as described in the positive posts. Our room as is typical with a lot of UK accommodation was small, but cosy and clean. Not knowing what time we would arrive or the availability of eating establishments nearby we per ordered dinner with Lyn. The two course dinner which included duck and copious vegetables was a highlight of our visit to Cornwall. Beechwood is a place that you would recommend to any friends without hesitation, knowing that they would receive great hospitality. I believe that Beechwood is the only real "B&B" within the boundary of the moors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hi, we were travelling 2 adults and 2 children and stayed for one night in this B&B. Very good situation in the middle of the National Park, ideal for going everywhere. Adam and Lynette's are perfect hosts attending any questions you had and very nice with children.
I'd recommend 100% this B&B.
Greetings from Mallorca.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Property: Beechwood B&B
Address: Beechwood Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing