We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in South England”
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Passau, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best stay in South England”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We've stayed here for 3 nights in early March, and it was the best stay we've had on our trip. Lynn and Adam are perfect hosts and made us feel very much at home. They did our laundry, packed us lunch for hiking, had many recommendations for what to do and where to go. We travelled with our two small kids who also enjoyed the time spent there, most of all the gardens and Bob, the very friendly dog. Breakfast was superb, so were the rooms and grounds.
All perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
85
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My family and I had lunch at a local pub and decided rather than having dessert, that we would find somewhere to have creams teas instead. We searched online and found the Beechwood B&B. I have to say that the location, the settings, the staff but most of all the cream teas themselves were absolutely wonderful.

We will definitely be visiting again

Thank you from Bernie and Family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Good Friday for lunch, not B&B. Could not believe how quiet it was, when everywhere else on Dartmoor was heaving. Garden a haven of tranquillity. For most of lunchtime we were only patrons.
Very nice hosts, friendly and very eager to please. Lovely conservatory to sit in too.
Downsides? A very limited lunch menu, but the sign outside specifies "light lunches", so that was our own choice.
The main problem was we feel they are overcharging for the food they do offer. We were shocked when we came to pay. Sadly, because we loved the place, we wouldn't go back as it was too expensive.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding Beechwood we are sorry that you thought our menu expensive. Our menu is priced in line with our competitors locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
573 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A perfect setting in the middle of Dartmoor, Beechwood is a large property, with a lounge for the use of guests as well as the 7 guest bedroom. There is plenty of parking and meadows attached to the property for the use of guests, Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good, Lynnette and Adam were friendly , helpful and competent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Coming back from France in the morning tired after an over overnight crossing we were allowed to check in very early with a warm welcome and a comfortable room. Lovely position for walking, delicious home grown/locally sourced food, outstanding breakfast and personal service. Under its present owners this is a top ranking B and B amongst the best in the country.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank N502TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My girlfriend and I thought we'd take a weekend trip to the moors and were attracted by the price and the reviews of this place. We weren't disappointed. A very attentive but not over-bearing couple Adam and Lynette looked after us very well and always wore a smile. They made sure we knew where we were walking, informed us of the best places to eat and drink locally and even cooked for us the evening we arrived, which I should say was amazing food!
Top service, beautiful lounge, excellent pubs and walks, private bathroom.
Thank you Adam and Lynette

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthJJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at Beechwood for 5 nights which I really enjoyed. My room was really clean and very cosy. Adam and Lynette were very helpful at any time. When I went for walks they told me to say Hello und Bye so they knew I came back healthy, otherwise they would have gone searching. I had dinner twice which was very delicious, both times. Since I didn't have a car they offered to take me with them when they had to run errands. Also, the setting is stunning! You can go for beautiful walks and get to know Dartmoor quite well. I would recommend Beechwood without hesitation and I hope to came back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry the weather was so wet. - Typically Dartmoor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Property: Beechwood B&B
Address: Beechwood Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing