We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
152
23
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
23
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts long walk beautiful cottage twin room down the road the location is perfect new owners warm welcome lovely room adam dartmoor chickens conservatory lounge pubs dog scenery
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We have stayed at Beechwood quite a few times when the previous people were running it, and now it has changed hands and Ian and Sarah own it. They are doing a great job, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was delicious. We will be returning!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Owner at Beechwood on Dartmoor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad that we are doing all the right things, as it is all so very new to us. Look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We had a really nice stay at Beechwood. The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfasts were really nice. Rooms a little small but we had a nice guests lounge to relax in. The location of Postbridge is also beautiful.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. Very friendly. Felt very welcome. Comfy and cosy. Very clean. Lovely service and great food. Hospitality was 10/10. Would return for sure. Shame the weather wasn't a little better. Bob the dog is such a sweetie. Perfect set up guys. Ticked all the boxes. Well done!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank emilynichole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood on Dartmoor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Emily
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Adam and Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Conflicted and so I leave a mixed review.

On the positive side (and as has been said before), the location is perfect for exploring Dartmoor. The rooms were small but clean and the power shower in our room was excellent. However, others in our party were told they had to wait 20 minutes between showers to wait for the water to heat up, which delayed our exit somewhat (6 of us). Also on the positive side are the good pubs nearby for drinks and meals.

On the negative side, whilst we can only agree that the hosts Lynnette and Adam were charming, friendly and remembered all our names, we felt the friendliness could have felt more genuine. Difficult to define but we felt that we as guests were tolerated only because we paid money and in reality they would rather not have us. Who can blame them but that is the business they have chosen? They admitted to us that it was lovely when their guests went our all day as they had the place to themselves but this sense that we were only just tolerated did disturb us. Also, check out was a very prompt 10am that again felt as if they could not wait for us to leave.

Breakfast was very tasty (Adam cooks) and a good selection but again we felt rushed as everyone is given a short 45 minute slot between 8-8.45 to eat and we felt pressured into ordering as soon as we came downstairs. Not a relaxing start to the day.

So - a mixed review. I am not sure if this is harsh but I am trying to be absolutely honest. This is not the cheapest B&B in Postbridge and whilst it was kind of them to offer to fill our flasks in the morning, nowhere did it say we would be charged £3 for doing so until we came to settle. The irony is that Adam and I had only just had a conversation about our objections to hidden prices! Perhaps we should have checked when they offered but it did leave a sense of penny pinching from their barely tolerated guests.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arkay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood on Dartmoor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Roland and Sarah
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We take our guests feedback very seriously and strive to make our guests feel welcome as far as possible. It is upsetting on this occasion we failed and you did not really enjoy your stay. We are sorry you felt rushed in any way and we apologise for this. To suggest that we only tolerate guests is unreasonable and very unfair, Adam went out of his way to take a one of your friends who arrived late, down to the pub in our car in the pouring rain.
Regarding the points that we can address - the hot water did not affect you at all. We are a cottage not a hotel and do not have unlimited hot water for everyone wanting to have showers at the same time. By suggesting staggering showers to a large group ensures everyone has hot water which your colleagues seemed to appreciate. We do not have any hidden prices, - in our information folder to quote ' we are happy to fill flasks with coffee or tea for a modest charge' £1.50 for a flask of coffee, which is a service we are happy to offer we feel is modest.
You are right we are not the cheapest B&B in Postbridge - but strive to deliver the best possible service for the prices which we charge. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and will strive to do better.
Kind regards
Adam and Lynette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Beechwood is the best place to experience Dartmoor. This cozy b&b is located in the very heart of the moor and is the ideal base to discover the park.
Adam and Lynette are such perfect hosts, very friendly and careful, always there for advices and information.
Very recommended!
Thank you.

Bruno, Giovanna and Lucrezia

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank giopicci65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood on Dartmoor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Bruno
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Adam and Lynette Beechwood B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews