We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the location and would definitely go back”
Review of Lydgate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydgate House
Ranked #3 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This hotel is up a lane just outside of the village, in a peaceful and quiet location. The present owners have only been there for a year and are developing a relaxing environment for their guests. We were offered a cream tea on arrival, and had several choices of walks directly out of the hotel including along the river. They cater for dogs too which is good. The food is locally sourced and a three course, well cooked menu is available. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Consultant4481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Lydgate House and wished that we could of stayed longer. Our room, Heron, was large & roomy with stunning views from two windows. The bathroom was spacious and the large roll top bath heavenly. The king size bed ensured a good nights sleep. The breakfast was of a very high standard - the best we have enjoyed during our entire trip.

Room Tip: Heron is the nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lovely small hotel with good rooms and excellent service, and we enjoyed dining with good food and pleasant surroundings. Karen is an excellent cook! Lounge is very comfortable space to sit and read in, after a days walking from the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coaster027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Lovely hotel, high standards throughout, with great attention to detail. Food excellent. Fantastic, peaceful situation. Friendly and attentive hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glgidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My wife and I have stayed twice within the year at Lydgate House, a total of 6 days in all. We chose two of the larger rooms with excellent en-suite facilities including roll top baths and wonderfully large and comfortable beds. Attention to detail at the Lydgate is impressive with crisp bed linen and a large range of toiletries including Radox bath products to sooth those aching muscles after long walks!
On arrival Karen and Steve offer a superb cream tea either in the relaxed atmosphere of the lounge or outside on the terrace. We chose to take just one evening meal during our first stay but found it so good that we took the option to eat twice during our second visit. Karen is a truly superb cook and the meals we took were easily the best we have had on Dartmoor. Food is locally sourced and considering the size of the hotel there is a good choice from a menu that changes daily. Linen napkins and attention to fine detail speak volumes about Steve and Karen's experience. We were particularly impressed by the wine list at the Lydgate which is the result of careful choices made through a merchant in Tavistock. Steve was also an master brewer at some stage and his advice on local beers is not to be missed. Breakfast and dinner are served in a spacious conservatory area at the rear of the hotel offering superb views of mature trees and a varied landscape that hints at the joys of the walks to be enjoyed from the hotel. We would urge anyone who is thinking of eating elsewhere to give Lydgate's restaurant a try!
Lydgate House has a peaceful ambience that quickly dispels any worries or stress you may have had prior to arrival! It is also a great starting point for a varied range of walks. Steve and Karen are very happy to offer advice and guide books as they seem to have tried many themselves. There is also a warm boot room which we found essential after walking on Dartmoor in February!
We were surprised to see one recent negative review here which certainly does not mirror our experience. We can't wait to return to Lydgate House very soon. A superbly run hotel in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Heron or Buzzard are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symphony1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed 5 nights and found my host a bit diffident to me and other guests there were many nationalities staying - German, Belgian and Dutch and he does like you to holiday by his rules. For 3 nights I was the only guest eating at the hotel. Food is ok but too many sauces and vegetables over cooked bearing in mind you are paying £27.50 for a 3 course meal it should have a more varied selection. Guests who stayed there under previous owners found it completely changed. Steve and Karen took over 7 months ago and have some settling in to do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We had a great time, the room was warm and very comfortable, the surroundings very 'Devon' and quiet. The food was very good indeed and there was a very relaxed atmosphere, it was great to be able to book for one night only.

Highly recommended!!

Pam and Trevor

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorcatcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Postbridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Beechwood B&B
Beechwood B&B
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Postbridge
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Dartmoor
YHA Dartmoor
#1 of 2 in Postbridge
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dartfordleigh Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Lydgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydgate House

Address: | Yelverton, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range: £85 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Lydgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydgate House Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing