We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot”
Review of Bellever Forest

Bellever Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Shame you have to pay for parking now, but it is a lovely spot for the children to dibble in the river, play on the banks, climb the rocks and walk in the woods. Ideal picnic spot, it even has tables!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great walks and lots of historic sites to explore”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Easy access to many walks. Good in all weathers. The walk to Bellever Tor is quite easy and there are great views

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“picturesque”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Absolutely beautiful spot wonderful for walking and picnics sadly you have to pay for parking now but that said the toilets are always clean and free at the moment so i suppose they have to make their money somewhere

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful with Wild Ponies!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is beautiful. Parking within the trees next to the little river/stream. As you leave the parking area, there are dirt roads to walk on as well as paths and sites within the trees. We happened upon a group of wild ponies on the road and after a few seconds realized one was silently tailing us. Here and there we would be surprised by ponies gathering along side the road and they would stop and stare at us. It was amazing to be so close to them without scaring them, though we always kept our distance. If we lived near here we would make it a day with a picnic and a long, lovely walk with our dogs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice in the Sun”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Been here twice in the last month, the first time it poored with rain but we sat there and BBQ'd anyway and it was still lovely. The second time the sun shone beautifully and this attracted the masses, very busy but was lovely. The river is great for dogs and kids alike. BBQing is no problem. Cows and horses around but they are no bother. Car park is £2 all day but only takes cash, silly due to the fact there is nothing else close by, the cheeky thing is they don't have any bins though. Surely with all the £2 a few bins could be invested in. Worth a visit though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank danmsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellever Forest also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Bellever Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing