We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Job”

Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just the Job”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Only stopped here for one night as part of LEJOG but to be honest is just the job. Not expensive, does not take loads of people which is actually quite nice. Self catering facilities available but we headed for the pub which is great and only 2 doors away.

My only disappointment is we had to leave early and so could not try out one of the famed breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the bunk house for the first time as part of a large group including a 4 month old baby, 2 under 5s, a dog and 8 adults and it was perfect for what we needed. The beds are comfy and the kitchen is well stocked with all you need. Breakfast at the cafe is an absolute must - a lovely atmosphere and great value!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Spent 5 nights in the bunkhouse accommodation, there are 3 rooms each with 4 bunks in each, we had one room for us (me and hubby). Only had two toilet and shower's, one make one female so when bunkhouse full it's a bit of a wait for the loo or shower. Shower/toilet area could do with a spruce up but they are not horrid just basic

Beds are ok, rooms a little tight for space but overall for the accommodation type and price you cannot complain

Kitchen area well stocked with cooker, microwave, toaster, kettle, cutlery etc

Cafe for breakfast is a must even if only one, great breakfast, good price and really good atmosphere,.

Went to plume of feathers pub only two doors down, really good homemade pub grub and very welcoming

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave-foxtorcafe, Owner at Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to put your thoughts on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and food from the cafe. We are slowly renovating the bunkhouse and and cafe and next January will hopefully be the bunkhouse toilets turn! So if you come next year they should look a little better.
Thanks again, hope to see you again soon.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I saw Fox Tor Cafe in Country File Magazine, described as Dartmoors hidden gem. This is 100% correct, not only is the cafe top notch they also have a hostel out the back. We stayed in here for a weekend with friends while kayaking, we took advantage of their fantastic value breakfasts and took a little cake for dinner too. There is nothing you can say that is negitive about this cafe, accommodation or the staff, take it from us, it is a real hidden gem!! Thanks again to Dave and the girls.

Room Tip: Room 3 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

After a night camping on a cold, windy and wet Dartmoor (and that's the weather here in mid-summer) there is nothing to beat the welcoming smell and warmth that greets you as you walk into the Fox Tor for breakfast. Whether you go full-on fried, or eat a healthy breakfast, you will soon forget the weather outside. This is one of those places that you feel you could stay the whole day - in fact if you get your morning paper down the road, and keep topping up your coffee then you probably could.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeyTheBikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The cafe is spotless, the staff are friendly and amenable, and most importantly the food (especially the breakfast) is good value and very, very tasty! Next time I stay in Princetown it will definitely be here. I cannot recommend this lovely little place enough, it is a gem!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank smitch30uk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stayed here towards the end of summer.

Clean, well-equipped and affordable with all the necessary options for hikers, backpackers or anyone exploring the local area and Dartmoor really.

Has an inviting, comfortable adjoining cafe with Wifi as well as good food, strong coffee and great staff.

Atmosphere overall is really quite excellent and the lodging facilities and cafe both provide pretty great value.

Will definitely be returning and recommending.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chapel at The Oratory
The Chapel at The Oratory
#4 of 6 in Princetown
53 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cherrybrook
The Cherrybrook
#1 of 1 in Two Bridges
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
YHA Dartmoor
YHA Dartmoor
#1 of 2 in Postbridge
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse

Property: Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse
Address: Two Bridges Road, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Princetown
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Fox Tor Cafe Bunkhouse Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing