We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic farmhouse on Dartmoor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic farmhouse on Dartmoor.”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Visited last weekend with horses, excellent place to stay and either start your horse riding trip of dartmoor or as an overnight stop on the way somewhere else.
Whether you are walking, cycling or on horseback this the place to stay if you are visiting this area of Dartmoor. Good value for money and friendly people. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Delighted to find that Tor Royal had opened as a B&B for travellers with horses.5 of us stayed here this weekend and it was great, the horses loved the big airy stables and the warm welcome. I have produced a horse riders guide to the moor: www.ridedartmoor,co.uk and this fills a huge gap as previously there was nowhere to stay in the centre of the moor near Princetown. well done we will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanmathys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
985 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We ended up staying here quite by accident. A friend booked stables overnight for a two-day Dartmoor trek and half of us stayed here, the other half at a pub in Princetown down the road. We got the bettter end of the deal by a mile! Lovely people, stunning historic and recently restored Duchy of Cornwall Property this is a far cry from your normal working farm... Our hostess was utterly charming and even lent me her Landrover Discovery to cellect the rest of the group from the rather inferior accomodation down the road! We ate and drank at the Plume of Feathers in Princetown which is a very good pub for food and drink and is only a short walk from here. I cannot reccomend this B&B highly enough... Beats your faceless dull hotel any day and I would definitely stay here whether I had horses or not! Marks out of 10? An easy 12!

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different and even the single rooms are beautifully appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was the first time we had stayed on Dartmoor and we couldn't have picked a better place. Tor Royal is conveniently placed but still off the beaten track. We stayed in the Wallace room a large airy room with double aspect views to the moors. We couldn't have been more comfortable, lovely large bed and soft pillows with a super strong powerful shower. Recently refurbished the decor is very in keeping with this beautifully farmhouse.
Having Dartmoor immediately on your doorstep was a huge delight, the walks from Tor Royal are endless. Its a very relaxing and peaceful place to stay where you will be assured of the warmest of welcomes by Justine.

The Tor Royal Stables next door are very friendly and well run. I decided to go on the Warhorse ride which was fantastic, I loved every minute.
We had a fabulous few days at Tor Royal and cannot wait to revisit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Amazing historic house (felt privilaged to visit!) yet bedrooms were newly decorated in a modern, traditional style with fantastic shower in ensuite. Tastefully decorated. Spotless. Felt really at home and very relaxed. Very peaceful nights sleep. Justine and her husband were very helpful throughout our 2 night stay, and gave us lots of ideas of places to visit and see in the area. Working in the area for 12 months, and have already recommended this place to friends and family when they visit. Sadly didn't have time to try out their ponies for trekking on Dartmoor this visit, but home to return!

Room Tip: friends & I had the 2 rooms at the top of the house- private and quiet. Great views of the old g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
thank you for your kind words, we aim to please, and enjoy our lovely guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Myself and Bridesmaids stayed at Tor Royal the night before my wedding and am so glad we did as it was absolutely perfect.
The house itself is stunning.
The bedrooms were beautiful and the bed was like a great big marshmallow which meant i had the best night sleep ever!
Mrs Colton and family were wonderful and breakfast was superb. Nothing was too much trouble and they made everyone feel welcome.
My review does not really do Tor Royal justice but I can say that I would recommend it to anyone and it definately made my wedding day special.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL.UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

From the moment we arrived the host Mrs Colton could not do enough to make are three night stay more perfect. Are room was well laid out with tea & coffee making facilitise,the views from the window was just perfect and to top it off we had the best 3 nights sleep ever. Breakfast was good and hearty and a great start to the day The buidling was amazing with so much history on display. Horse riding was available and it was great to look around the stables and part of the farm.

Room Tip: All rooms where excellent,and to top it all off was the views out across the dartmoor landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DARTMOOR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chapel at The Oratory
The Chapel at The Oratory
#4 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.9 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tor Royal Farm Tor Royal Lane, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed Historic house in centre of Dartmoor - comfortable en-suite rooms with a royal connection. Area famous for Sherlock Holmes, War Horse, Dartmoor ponies and Dartmoor Prison. We are a working farm. Five lovely rooms, Wallace, Lilly, Tywhitt and Sherlock - single room overlooking the courtyard complete with bell tower. Home of Dartmoor ponies. We are not a hotel, but a large bed and breakfast which is family run - our aim is for you to leave us wanting to come back, so if something is not as you imagined, please let us know, it is as simple as that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing