We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stunning Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Tor Royal is a beautiful property located in the middle of the breathtaking moors. This was a bit of a splurge for us, but it was absolutely worth it (especially since I wanted to go riding on the moors).

We were upgraded from the Lilly to the Wallace room due to some booking issue, and the room was gorgeous. It looked over the gardens to one side and the fields full of horses to the other. Justine and her daughter made everything very comfortable, and even brought up fresh milk for tea and coffee on our first night. Breakfast was lovely, and the town of Princetown (just a 5 minute walk away) has some great pubs for lunch and dinner.

Our only complaint was that we had booked a horse trek in advance, but because my partner booked the room and I e-mailed about the horses (under a different surname), they assumed we weren't coming for the ride and made plans for the day, so we had to be squeezed into a shorter ride at the last minute. It all worked out perfectly, and the ride was outstanding, but we were a little frustrated that despite countless e-mails back and forth, they had simply disregarded our correspondence because the surnames didn't automatically match.

All in all, this was a great place to stay, and a wonderful home base for exploring Dartmoor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hodophile89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had an amazing drive across dartmoor to reach Tor Royal and when we arrived were met by peacocks, an inquisitive ram and the most architecturally interesting and beautiful home. We were made to feel so at home by host Justine who was so relaxed and flexible. Great breakfast with fresh, local produce which kept us going all day. Loved our art deco room with lots of interesting features. If you want a step back in time, wild and remote country and escapism this is a great place to get away from it all. Will return and pack jodhpurs next time for horse back exploring from the b and b's own Tor Royal stables.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greyboywk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked Tor Royal after attending a course there in February. My mum and I came down for a night as a surprise birthday stay and pony-ride for her. I’d met Justine before so I already knew she was lovely and welcoming, and when we got to our room there was nothing to let down either her or the tripadvisor rating! Despite being short staffed during the day the room was spotless, warm, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and set us up for our two-hour trek in the morning. We were very lucky with the weather and rode across the moor in bright summer sunshine, and Adele was a great chaperone!

All in all, a fabulous stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend Tor Royal for both accommodation and riding. We will be back at some stage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed for two nights as I was working at the local prison, I was very impressed at how clean and tidy everywhere was, there was lots to choose from at breakfast and I even ordered a packed lunch to take with me - nothing was too much trouble.
The only drawback was the lack of mobile phone service in the area but that can't be helped.
I really want to return with my family for a riding break as there are stables onsite.
Absolute bargain, definitely recommend you stay here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife, son and I stayed one night at the Tor Royal in order to see Dartmoor. A really nice place with a fantastic room (Wallace) in very good condition. We got an extra bed for our son (4y old) and still lots of space. Really liked the double bed which was beautifully arranged.
Full English breakfast in a lovely dining room in the morning. Unfortunately the weather was against us, so we had to cancel the planned horse riding. :-( Instead we went for a short walk on some of the trails which are 2 minutes away (ask for maps at the Information center right in the middle of Princetown).
All in all way too little time at this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: The Wallace room got plenty of space even with an extra bed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stsa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the Wallace room. We wanted a quality B&B on the moors with comfort and atmosphere. We certainly got it at the Tor Royal. It is a rambling farmhouse built in the late 18th Century by the same guy who built Dartmoor prison. It also supposedly has connections with various Princes of Wales.
It is a working farm. It overlooks the moors and in the morning was shrouded in mist. It is not far from the Fox Tor mire that formed the basis for Arthur Conan Doyles 'Hound of THe Baskervilles'.
The house has been recently refurbished in keeping with its era. The room was spacious, well appointed with period furnishings & comfortable. Free & fast Wifi (not like the 'dial up' they had in the C18th). Breakfast was good farm fare served in the original dining room. Very close to a few pubs with great character and information centre for exploring the moor. Justine the hostess is very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwhtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely recommendation on Trip Advisor, glad you enjoyed your stay, you were lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a one night stay here on our way to Cornwall. Our room was lovely, high ceilings and tasteful decor. Cooked breakfast was lovely and we sooo enjoyed our horse ride across the moor which we booked with the farm too. Excellent!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stag66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,072 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
321 reviews
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,355 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cherrybrook
The Cherrybrook
#1 of 1 in Two Bridges
218 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechwood B&B
Beechwood B&B
#1 of 4 in Postbridge
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tor Royal Farm Tor Royal Lane, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed Historic house in centre of Dartmoor - comfortable en-suite rooms with a royal connection. Area famous for Sherlock Holmes, War Horse, Dartmoor ponies and Dartmoor Prison. We are a working farm. Five lovely rooms, Wallace, Lilly, Tywhitt and Sherlock - single room overlooking the courtyard complete with bell tower. Home of Dartmoor ponies. We are not a hotel, but a large bed and breakfast which is family run - our aim is for you to leave us wanting to come back, so if something is not as you imagined, please let us know, it is as simple as that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing