We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location, house and host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A lovely location, house and host”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked four nights at Tor Royal as we'd a wedding reception to attend at the Nearby Two Bridges and thought that the proximity to Dartmoor would be good.
The weather was not particularly kind to us, but we could not fault Tor Royal, nor Justine who looked after us so well.
The house is brimming with character, rooms are spacious, well maintained, very clean and fully equipped. Breakfasts were excellent.
The location is very "rural" and quiet and, should the weather be reasonable, very handy for walking. It's a little way out of Princetown, but not too far to walk to the village. The Plume of Feathers provides a good watering hole and quite reasonable food too.
We would recommend Tor Royal without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImperialCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Tor Royal is a beautiful historic house in a stunning setting in the middle of Dartmoor. It has been tastefully restored and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. We did some great walks from the doorstep and Princetown with its couple of pubs serving good food is walking distance. What really makes Tor Royal is the proprietor Justine who is kind, welcoming & nothing is too much trouble - we felt completely at home. Oh I nearly forgot about breakfast - fantastic & I recommend the smoked haddock & poached egg, full English was also excellent. We spent 2 nights here on our way back from Cornwall - we will be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jillley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ideally situated to explore Dartmoor on horseback, this historic farm is just perfect. When my daughter and granddaughter visited they were delighted to learn that we had booked them a hack across the moor. Even grandma joined them. Despite the weather being a little bit on the chilly side they thoroughly enjoyed the experience and vowed to repeat it on their next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

An outstanding B&B with the added bonus of a fantastic stables/farm on site. Beautiful location & great base to visit other parts of Dartmoor &/or Plymouth.
Highlights: breakfast was yummy, the Sherlock room was outstanding & the hosts made us feel at home.
If you want to go pony trekking I highly recommend - ponies where happy and excellent steeds over the moorland.
We will return & I highly recommend Tor Royal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadeeaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Tor Royal is a beautiful property located in the middle of the breathtaking moors. This was a bit of a splurge for us, but it was absolutely worth it (especially since I wanted to go riding on the moors).

We were upgraded from the Lilly to the Wallace room due to some booking issue, and the room was gorgeous. It looked over the gardens to one side and the fields full of horses to the other. Justine and her daughter made everything very comfortable, and even brought up fresh milk for tea and coffee on our first night. Breakfast was lovely, and the town of Princetown (just a 5 minute walk away) has some great pubs for lunch and dinner.

Our only complaint was that we had booked a horse trek in advance, but because my partner booked the room and I e-mailed about the horses (under a different surname), they assumed we weren't coming for the ride and made plans for the day, so we had to be squeezed into a shorter ride at the last minute. It all worked out perfectly, and the ride was outstanding, but we were a little frustrated that despite countless e-mails back and forth, they had simply disregarded our correspondence because the surnames didn't automatically match.

All in all, this was a great place to stay, and a wonderful home base for exploring Dartmoor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodophile89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had an amazing drive across dartmoor to reach Tor Royal and when we arrived were met by peacocks, an inquisitive ram and the most architecturally interesting and beautiful home. We were made to feel so at home by host Justine who was so relaxed and flexible. Great breakfast with fresh, local produce which kept us going all day. Loved our art deco room with lots of interesting features. If you want a step back in time, wild and remote country and escapism this is a great place to get away from it all. Will return and pack jodhpurs next time for horse back exploring from the b and b's own Tor Royal stables.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyboywk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked Tor Royal after attending a course there in February. My mum and I came down for a night as a surprise birthday stay and pony-ride for her. I’d met Justine before so I already knew she was lovely and welcoming, and when we got to our room there was nothing to let down either her or the tripadvisor rating! Despite being short staffed during the day the room was spotless, warm, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and set us up for our two-hour trek in the morning. We were very lucky with the weather and rode across the moor in bright summer sunshine, and Adele was a great chaperone!

All in all, a fabulous stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend Tor Royal for both accommodation and riding. We will be back at some stage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#2 of 6 in Princetown
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tor Royal Farm Tor Royal Lane, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed Historic house in centre of Dartmoor - comfortable en-suite rooms with a royal connection. Area famous for Sherlock Holmes, War Horse, Dartmoor ponies and Dartmoor Prison. We are a working farm. Five lovely rooms, Wallace, Lilly, Tywhitt and Sherlock - single room overlooking the courtyard complete with bell tower. Home of Dartmoor ponies. We are not a hotel, but a large bed and breakfast which is family run - our aim is for you to leave us wanting to come back, so if something is not as you imagined, please let us know, it is as simple as that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing