We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
105
15
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
15
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track beautiful surroundings dartmoor countryside half mile tasty breakfast nothing is too much trouble our room was spacious an evening meal lovely place justine farm horses host lane character walks wallace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2019

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at Tor Royal! The building itself is full of character and we loved our cosy room with its homely finishing touches. Justine went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed for our trip and gave us lots of recommendations for places to eat and things to see in the area. Cooked breakfast was delicious every morning and we enjoyed a lovely cream tea on the second afternoon of our stay! Check in and check out were a breeze and the pack of sheepdogs from the farm even came to wave us off! We'd definitely recommend this little gem and hope we can come back one day! Thanks again for a great stay

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

thank you for your lovely review, I hope to see you both again too - and so do the dogs and Bruce the cat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Justine friendly and helpful. Room clean,quiet and comfortable with all the usual amenities. Breakfast very good. Perfect setting for a relaxing and interesting break. Would certainly be happy to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ObserverSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

That is great to hear, thank you, we do try to please and glad you found us relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

My (now wife!) had our wedding here on the bank holiday weekend 5.5.2018. Justine and her family were the most accommodating hosts one could wish to have throughout the preparation process and during the ceremony. We stayed here on the friday and saturday nights and had an outstanding welcome and stay (exceptional breakfast!). Justine et al. on the wedding day were absolutely brilliant, everything we asked for was delivered with unbelievable efficiency and a smile. She kept us calm and sane! We simply couldn't have asked for a better day - everything was perfect. Thank you so much!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Manager at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you Alex, it is always a pleasure and I did promise you sunny weather :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

In December 2017 we got married here. I can’t recommend it enough if your after a romantic, small Dartmoor wedding. Justine and the Tor Royal crew couldn’t of done any better. They helped make our day the best ever. Everyone was saying just how stunning the venue is and since our wedding I know of two others who are thinking of planning their own Tor Royal wedding. The rooms and breakfast was stunning just shame I didn’t get photos of those. There are so many options here if you’re planning a wedding, there’s the stunning house (which is my favourite) you also have the grounds and the new wedding barn, you can’t let your wildest dreams come true in the stunning location.

Room tip: Perfect for wedding, getaway or even for a spot of afternoon tea
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shelbie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you Michelle, as usual it is a pleasure to have you and your family around. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Beautiful hotel / farmhouse. The staff were just fab, couldn't be more pleasant. Offered us umbrellas and a torch to walk down to the local pub and then slippers waiting for us when we returned.
The room was gorgeous, perfect for us as a couple and our little pug!
Breakfast was lovely, we tried to book another evenings stay however they were fully booked!
Do stay and book in advance as this is one not to be missed!!!!

**FREE WIFI TOO :) **

Thank you for having us x

Room tip: All rooms looked gorgeous!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 4Soho2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

You were a pleasure to host - and my little dog took quite a fancy to yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews