We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
105
15
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
15
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track beautiful surroundings dartmoor countryside half mile tasty breakfast nothing is too much trouble our room was spacious an evening meal lovely place justine farm horses host lane character walks wallace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2019

We live locally and rode our horses to Tor Royal for two nights B&B.
Justine and family couldn't have been more accommodating. The horses had ample grazing, stabling if wanted, which we didn't, preferring them to be able to stretch their legs after a long day.
Our room was lovely and warm, necessary this June !!! Breakfast was awesome, plenty of choice and local produce wherever possible. A working farm with a really hard working family.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone local or otherwise.
Tremendous selection of books on the locality to help you appreciate the area.
Thank you so much Tor Royal...We will be back.
.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lakelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a two night trip away. It's an absolutely lovely place. Our room was spacious, with a great view, bed was comfortable. The bathroom was great with a good modern shower.
The hostess /owner is a lovely lady and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was very good, and with lots of options. The building itself is very interesting with 18th century decor, and wonderful high ceilings.
Bonus is that it's just a short 15 minute walk from the centre local pub and shops.
Great place, highly recommended. Thank you.

Morgan & Loretta.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I189GYjeffd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2019 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the Wallace room at this large farm near Princetown. Found it on line and gather it used to be a Arabian stud farm for a former Prince of Wales but Justine was our very welcoming host. Her breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of choice.
The farm is a perfect base for the many wonderful walks on Dartmoor

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cillatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at Tor Royal! The building itself is full of character and we loved our cosy room with its homely finishing touches. Justine went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed for our trip and gave us lots of recommendations for places to eat and things to see in the area. Cooked breakfast was delicious every morning and we enjoyed a lovely cream tea on the second afternoon of our stay! Check in and check out were a breeze and the pack of sheepdogs from the farm even came to wave us off! We'd definitely recommend this little gem and hope we can come back one day! Thanks again for a great stay

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

thank you for your lovely review, I hope to see you both again too - and so do the dogs and Bruce the cat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Justine friendly and helpful. Room clean,quiet and comfortable with all the usual amenities. Breakfast very good. Perfect setting for a relaxing and interesting break. Would certainly be happy to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ObserverSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine C, Owner at Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

That is great to hear, thank you, we do try to please and glad you found us relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews