We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowed in but still open!”

Dartmoor Prison Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$367.01*
and up
Magical Dartmoor: One Day Luxury Private Guided Tour from Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nettleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Snowed in but still open!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

All you could see was snow but it was still open. Managed to quell my girlfiend's 'geekisms' and visit this great museum. Even if you have previously had no interest in prisions - it is captivating!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    182
    62
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed this place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We popped in to check this place out as a way to get out of teh rain and we were very pleased that we did. They had so much stuff to see and such a wild history to hear. Have already reccommended this place to friends and family as a must see when in the Dartmoor area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltshire_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

It was great to see this museum as it really gave a great insight into prison life from both the prisoners and prison keepers at Dartmoor Prison. Full of many artifacts including clothing, restraints, prisoners crafts,weapons or escape devices etc etc. It was such an eye opener. The two currators we met were wonderful and so knowledgeable and had worked at the prison and were only too happy to answer questions. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a surprise!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

this compact museum came as a big surprise, the unobtrusive facade hides a wealth of information and history that is engaging and puts a true human slant on the history of Dartmoor Prison, we really enjoyed our afternoon looking around the displays.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I day you could not plan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were in the area and wanted to see the Moors. Although it was a sunny day elsewhere, the Moors were cold and misty. Driving through the fog it cleared to reveal Dartmoor prison and the museum. It was all very spooky and on entering the museum you read about the escaped mad axeman that was never caught and all kinds of other stories. As well as seeing weapons made by inmates. This isn't a huge museum but its setting is amazing.

This was the perfect day out, the atmosphere of the fog and the prison went so well together. We could not have planned a day like this, it had to just happen.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexb123a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dartmoor Prison Museum also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Dartmoor Prison Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing