We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not happy - again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plume of Feathers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plume of Feathers Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not happy - again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We used to love this place on the Moors. Their hot beef and stilton baguette was to die for. We even took our family there last summer to try it. Lately though, things have gone from bad to worse. You either get a baguette so over cooked it is dry as old boots, and so crunchy you might as well be eating dry crackers, or if they are busy, one that is cold and part baked, and tastes like play dough! Today was your last chance Plume, and once again you failed miserably. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynnyp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    47
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
59
50
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

... and soon warmed up and dried out after a home made pie and good cup of coffee. We were very impressed with the staff and their attitude to dogs in the pub. Full water bowls outside the pub are pretty standard, however the staff welcomed the dog and asked if she could be given a treat- this was greatly appreciated and we noted that all of the dogs that were inside the pub were very well behaved and under control. (The canines also have a choice on the menu of dog-sausage or cold-cuts.)
I have written this review as sometimes its difficult to leave the family dog in the car, and thus this is a good venue.
For those who aren't keen on dogs- please don't be put off!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Four of us ate here recently and were very pleased with our choice. Food was really tasty, I had one of the home made pies which was exceptionally good. Good selection of ales from local Dartmoor brewery as well as St Austell
Very good service, fast and friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I have just come back from Dartmoor with my son in law, we were riding a 40mile route around the area. The half way point happened to be Princetown and both of us had run out of water by the time we reached there. I went into the Plume and Feathers and asked if they could fill our water bottles up with tap water, to which I was told if I wasn't buying anything then there would be a charge. As my wife rightly pointed out to me when I got home they wouldn't stop a dog from having a bowl of water so why oh why would you try and impose a charge for tap water. I understand that you run a business, but I and my family are local from Plymouth, and guess what , we will never use your establishment again. I will also advise anyone I know to use the other facilities in and around Princetown but not The Plume and Feathers. Sorry to be negative , but in life you get exactly what you deserve.Terrible short sighted service, all for a bottle of tap water. I went 200 yards up the road to a guy cleaning his car asked for some water and he very kindly obliged. At least there are some nice people in Princetown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mobo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Princetown hotels

Betchworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed here with my son whilst walking on Dartmoor, basic but clean facilities, pub food a bit pricey but good quality, staff very friendly and helpful plus perfect location for walkers. Dartmoor visitor centre opposite worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis but also had our evening meals here. I could not fault it. The accommodation was extremely comfortable, the atmosphere in the pub was great with a good choice of beers on offer, the staff were very attentive to our needs and the food was top notch. what more could you want when visiting one of the most stunning parts of England! I would have no hesitation when recommending this destination to others.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Delia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Had a couple of days walking on Dartmoor with friends, staying for two nights at the Plume of Feathers, Princetown, Accommodation absolutely fantastic and great value. Very clean and modern with a large TV, large en-suite, great bed, and plenty of self make hot drinks including Tea, Coffee and Chocolate plus bottles of mineral water and biscuits. Plenty of electric sockets for charging appliances or running your laptop. Had hair drier and plenty of towels also. Very warm room with all radiators working efficiently. You will not be cold here. I had a room overlooking the main street of Princetown but never heard any noise from people of traffic. Overall can't fault the accommodation.

Evening meals were great and reasonably priced. Plenty of choice of Real ales, especially Cornish ales from St Austell Brewery including HSD, Proper Job and Tribute. Guest ales also on tap. Some good real cider choices and largers. Plenty of Whiskey choices too!

Breakfasts were brilliant - one of these keeps you going all day! Plenty of choice of breakfasts from full English, highly recommended, to vegetarian options. The sausages were what I call real sausages, not the mushy supermarket ones, eggs were deep yellow and bacon fantastic plus some black pudding, beans, mushrooms etc. No skimping here.

All the staff without exception were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. From previous visits I know this place can explode with customers especially at weekends but I have never ever had any problems with the staff, food or waiting too long, like any business.

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this establishment and will certainly be using again and again when I can

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polhigey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
0.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chapel at The Oratory
The Chapel at The Oratory
#4 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#2 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers Inn

Property: Plume of Feathers Inn
Address: Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Princetown
Plume Of Feathers Inn Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing