We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plume of Feathers Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Princetown
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Two Bridges Hotel(Two Bridges)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
90
50
34
22
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
50
34
22
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteakgreat foodpiespastryspecials boardbooked a tablepotatoesnice mealfew weeksthe kitchen staffbusy barlovely atmospheredartmoor prisonwarm welcomebeerplume
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rang on the day to book an overnight stop for our camper van. No problem, even though Dartmoor was quite busy, being Easter holidays. Arrived and booked in. Helpful staff provided code for the loos and shower and advice on where to park. Charge is per head (£7) which is very reasonable and for another £4 you can add a full breakfast. Direct access from the site for an evening walk on the moor. We were only planning a one night stop, but they were happy to extend if needed.

Loos and showers are quite utilitarian (stainless steel public type loos) but extremely clean and very warm room (good on a wet day)

We ate in the pub that night; good value, good choice, good food. Can't ask more. When I enquired about what time we must leave the next day (we were planning a morning walk and were unsure if we needed to move to the town parking) they were quite happy for us to stay as long as we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHarley0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Warm welcome from the staff, and quickly booked in to the spacious family room on the ground floor of the building next to the main Inn (The old Railway Pub - I think). We were advised to book a table for dinner as it was filling up.
The room was very well set out two single beds and one double bed, a bath (shower) room and toilet all were clean and well maintained.
The Bar / restaurant served some great ales and food, however was very busy during our stay with added to the fun.
The staff were very helpful and provide great service to our group of friends over the weekend. (We only stayed one night other stayed two).
A great place for a base to tour the area by foot, cycle, car or motorcycle or just to get together with friend away from the hassle of the town/city..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Visited here several times when out on the moor. The staff are always happy to help, even when it is very early in the morning.

Bacon sandwiches and coffee to go perfect. The lunch menu is solid also. The Plume of Feathers caters for dog walkers (even having a dog menu), provided your dog is well behaved then it is made to feel as welcome as the customers.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had been out on the moor on a beautiful, sunny but wind swept day only getting caught in one heavy shower. The wind though had chilled us through so when we walked into the warm bar it was a very pleasant start. The beer was local or Cornish, very good and which went down well. The food was fantastic, all four of us had something different and all of us were delighted with it. With drinks and food it came to £15 a head, with the quality and quantity it is very reasonable. The staff were cheerful, friendly and were patient as we were moving from table to table getting closer to the fire.Superb!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGSPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I grew up in the small village and I wanted to share it with my husband, many fond memories of the Plume and the Langtons.
so in my eyes nowhere better to go once we had walked the Moors, I couldn't of been more wrong. We arrived and asked if food was still being served "well of course" as though we were stupid, we had to ask for menus and how to order, so we choose and ordered. To be informed that our cups of tea would come out with the meals not beforehand, so we waited and waited and waited the 50 minutes later our place mats arrived then another 10 two cups barely gilled to the top of warm tea arrived, by this time I was just grateful for a drink, then around 5 minutes later our food arrived nothing fancy gammon chips and scampi and chips. The waiting staff were smoking in the court yard on the table next to us moaning on their mobiles about the owners and chefs being horrible. I have worked in pubs and restaurants and thus place needs a bloody good shake and sorting out I was so disappointed and upset when we voiced concerns we were dismissed and told its busy.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank hevfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews