We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
256
60
26
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog friendly hotel cream tea dining room dog towels homely feel dog treats biscuits drawing room fresh milk stone bridge open fire second to none other guests wine list wonderful setting breakfast and dinner superb food
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Got a good deal through booking.com so stayed for 2 nights and had dinner in the restaurant twice too. The location is magical and remote with excellent views and good walking to be had nearby. The hotel is shabbily grand, comfy and cosy with fires going all the time. Our room was really fun. The food is absolutely exceptional at breakfast and dinner, even for vegetarians.

Tiny downsides are it needs a bit of money spent on it to spruce it up a bit (without losing its quirk), drinks in the bar are variable (I had the same beer several times from a bottle; sometimes they were perfect, sometimes they were cloudy and off), bar snacks out of date, and the bathing facilities in the room were a bit tricky. Took too long to run a bath with low water pressure but no real way to have a shower without crouching in the bath.

The resident dogs are awesome and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We visited the Prince Hall for the first time with friends to meet another friend, who recommended the venue as it was a regular haunt. I was initially surprised at the understated facade of the building but that did not influence me on my experience. The rustic interior was homely and disorganised. Our five coffees and four tea cakes was served by a young lady, whose manner at best could be described as indifferent. The bill was £32, which I thought was a tad excessive, but was later informed by a friend that the charge was acceptable. Perhaps I should get out more; but not to the Prince Hall.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

This used to be one of our favourite places to go for afternoon tea and we always enjoyed our visits - a quirky old building with beautiful views across Dartmoor, an open fire and lovely food. On a recent visit to meet some people for coffee, we arrived separately and were all met with an incredibly rude reception. We had phoned ahead several weeks earlier to check whether we needed to book and had been told we didn't yet we were made to feel so unwelcome when we arrived that we all decided to go elsewhere.

A lovely hotel spoilt by a member of the front of house team and not somewhere we wish to return to. Unfortunately we've had no response after contacting the hotel directly with our complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is set in the middle of Dartmoor and has great walks on its doorstep. It is a dog friendly hotel with some of its own dogs, which I loved, even though we didn’t have our own! All food was cooked to perfection and the staff were very attentive! A very special place indeed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walkergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

First class. The staff so obliging, nothing too much trouble. Rooms superb, the food exceptional. It is a pleasure to stay here I recommend to everyone, we cannot wait to go back. There are fantastic walks in this area pure joy

Room Tip: All rooms outstanding
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews