We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of Lower Blackaton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Widecombe in the Moor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Blackaton
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived after a hard days walking - 9 rather wet and weary ladies. We had a wonderful welcome from Judy and David and the whole stay was fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble. Judy cooked us a lovely fish pie and a cottage pie for supper - delicious. The breakfast was fabulous too. The house is very comfortable and warm and there was plenty of hot water too. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southcoast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is our second stay here and it feels like returning home. Good location: only a few minutes outside of Widecombe in the moor. The breakfast is 'top notch', ask Judy for the scrambled eggs, very tasty. Mmmm

Room Tip: Check out the Rugglestone Inn for good pub food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
131David, Owner at Lower Blackaton, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Judy and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Its so encouraging to know that others also appreciate this lovely part of England. Come again. d
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The kitchen is the heart of this charming home, with a large gathering table, an Aga to keep you warm - and every conceivable cooking implement. Very homey- lots of books,puzzles, music and games kept all ages busy.

The layout was perfect because it gave everyone their own space as well as places to gather.

It is a perfect base for rambles on the moor and visits to Ruggleston Pub for excellent food! Couldn't have been better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here at Easter, 3 generations of the family met for a bit of a do. Absolutely first rate. Judy and David were lovely and provided the most wonderful experience from start to finish. I would recommend it for a great break in any weather (the wood burners and Aga compensate for any cold weather).
So many positive aspects to the trip, and no negatives.
Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leshall1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've just returned home from my stag weekend at Lower Blackaton and I must say it was perfect from start to finish.
Judy, who owns the house with her husband David, was extremely efficient and helpful in replying to my (many) emails when I was arranging the trip, and both went out of their way to make sure my mates and I had everything we needed to celebrate my stag weekend in style.
From setting the fire before we arrived - ensuring we had a lovely toasty living room to relax in - to rearranging the sleeping quarters at the last minute (on her birthday), Judy and David couldn't have been more helpful and were as warm, welcoming and charming as their lovely house.
They left us to our own devices, but were always close at hand if we needed anything (the tips and hints on walking routes to local pubs were especially welcome!)
Although there were just nine of us in the end, Lower Blackaton would have slept 13 or more comfortably. My friends and I have stayed in scores of B&Bs over the years - including several large (and more expensive) houses during mini breaks with our respective friends and families - and we all agreed that Lower Blackaton was the best one by far.
What made my stag weekend even more memorable for me was the use of the fabulous recently renovated barn which was the perfect location - and acoustics - for our celebratory evening meal and jazz jam session. We were all taken aback when we stepped inside to find that Judy and David had created the perfect candlelit jazz club atmosphere for us and had laid the table beautifully, ready for us to enjoy the hearty supper which they had prepared for us earlier in the day whist we were messing about in canoes and climbing tors (arranged via local firm Spirit of Adventure who were fantastic). They even served the food for us, which was another unexpected treat.
All-in-all it was a truly memorable stag weekend which I will cherish forever. I thoroughly recommend Lower Blackaton and will be back before too long for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BongoRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The most charming house I've stayed in over 20 years of visiting Dartmoor. Its character both solid and warmly inviting. Like our hosts David and Judy. Not least in its charm was the magnificent Aga, that the 6 gentlemen did make great use of in cooking fine roast (local beef from the Bovey butcher) dinners. Fine living room and library of books. And of course well situated for walking and other pursuits in glorious Dartmoor, God's country indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard quieter, and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I took a group of 17 (well behaved) stags to Lower Blackaton for a weekend of clay pigeons, boozy dartmoor afternoons and a murder mystery night in Blackaton Barn itself.

The accommodation couldn't have been better suited, and Dave and Judy couldn't have been more helpful in accommodating us. Although we were one over the number of beds, they helpfully put up a temporary bed in the barn which worked very well indeed.

The barn itself as an eating, drinking, entertaining and hanging out space was ideal, while Lower Blackaton house was at once cosy, comfortable, spacious and clean.

Although the local pub is a roughly 3 mile walk, you couldn't ask for a better way to start the day than stroll over the glorious countryside which surround Dartmoor, while the nearby amenities - caterers, taxis etc, who were suggested to us by Dave and Judy were well-priced and top quality.

Couldn't recommend a better venue for this type of stay - the memories will live long.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lower Blackaton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Blackaton

Property: Lower Blackaton
Address: Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Widecombe in the Moor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Widecombe in the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Blackaton is a south facing 17th century granite longhouse set in informal grounds with magnificent views of some of Britain's wildest moorland. It has been refurbished to combine tradition with modern comfort. It has oil fired central heating, two living rooms with wood burning stoves, kitchen with Aga, microwave, fridge, freezer, WM and TD, 5 bedrooms, bathroom, two shower rooms, four toilets, TV, DVD, VHS, CD, radio, broadband, telephone for guests and an extensive library. Outside, there is a walled garden in a listed ruin, an acre of natural and grassed grounds (with swing, trampoline, open fronted BBQ barn), and ample off-road parking. Lower Blackaton is an ideal centre for gatherings of family or friends. It is a perfect base for people who enjoy walking, rambling and bird watching or simply appreciate the peace and quiet of Dartmoor, one of the most beautiful national parks in Britain. A beautiful restored barn can be rented with the house as a perfect venue for workshops, retreats, sit down or informal parties or just as an indoor play area with table tennis. There is instant access onto the moor, with stone age,bronze age and medieval ruins, spectacular tors, rivers and woodland all in easy walking distance. The village of Widecombe in the Moor is 3 miles away with cafés, pubs, church, village green and gift shops. Ashburton and Bovey Tracey are 7 miles, Tavistock and Newton Abbot (nearest train station) 14 miles, Plymouth and exeter 25 mies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Blackaton Widecombe In The Moor, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing