We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing,cosy,home from home,everything you need...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dashel Cottage

A few minutes walk from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A few minutes walk from the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
A few minutes walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Relaxing,cosy,home from home,everything you need is thought of..fab friendly owners !”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This little cottage is in the middle of the Moors....ideal for walkers,cyclists,etc.

So quiet,Tranquil,and relaxing...great base for visiting other parts of Dartmoor !

Paignton..Dartmouth...Plymouth near by.

The owners of this property are really lovely,very approachble,but,also leave you alone if you wish too be ! on arrival we were greeted, and had chocolate and wine,as complimentary gift, and milk in the fridge ! laundry and dishwasher, lovely relaxing garden to sit in.
would definitely recommend to Adults wanting a quiet break...and would definitely return in future.
Hosts are really lovely .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the trouble to describe your stay at the cottage on Dartmoor. Reviews like this keep us going!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Enjoyable stay in peaceful,comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cottage was in a great location - quiet spot with walks in every direction from the door. Nice to have the private, secure, sunny back garden - great for the dog. The cottage was warm and comfortable, with everything we needed. Owners were friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you very much for this review and we hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillyanna...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another good holiday in Dashel Cottage”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our second holiday in Dashel Cottage and we recommend it again. Venetia and Norman were welcoming, around if needed but not intrusive. The cottage is clean and had everything we needed. Internet speed was very slow with some searches of more complex sites timing out but that didn't matter too much to us. The cottage is on a very quiet road so you can sit out front or back, depending on whether you want sun or shade. You might want to take a children's game or two for wet weather. Widecombe is a place we have a spot for, having honeymooned there 40 years ago but it does get busy - another advantage of the situation of the cottage away from the crowds. It's worth looking inside the church which has interesting roof bosses and a wonderful model of the Widecombe Fair song, good post cards of it too. The pub in the square has for some years been turned into a gastro pub but the Rugglestone is a good local/walkers' pub with hearty meals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such an informative review of your stay. We hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review your stay at Brimble Cottage. We are glad that Dartmoor worked its magic and we hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dave M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Dashel cottage was ideal location for us and our dog walks on the moor.
we picked this location so that we could catch up with family and grandchildren
it was close to Plymouth and Torquay and down to Newquay for the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review Dashel cottage and glad the location was what you were looking for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasba...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in deepest Dartmoor”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We wanted a cosy, warm cottage in the middle of no-where which allowed us to take our two dogs with us and that is exactly what Dashel cottage offers.
It is situated in a wonderful quiet location on a country lane surrounded by amazing scenery. Having said that it is only a short drive to reach local towns and amenities. The cottage itself is lovely and warm with everything you need for your stay and the welcoming owners are just next door.
We couldn't have asked for more on a cold wet week in February.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review. Glad the cottage did the trick for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helencJ97...
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely warm cosy cottage, with friendly helpful owners and great surroundings. We even had snow for a few days.”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Christmas 2017 we decided to spend near one of my sisters on Dartmoor, but needed a dog friendly cottage. Dashel looked ideal, and proved to be so. Quiet location, everything we needed in the cottage, including a real, decorated Christmas tree, lots of birds feeding in the garden, and enjoyed watching the guinea fowl wandering around.
Unfortunately, I’d had a serious illness earlier in the year, but Venetia reassured me I’ll find Dashel manageable. I did, and felt better for making the effort. Our whole family, plus dogs, enjoyed a wonderful Christmas together. Would love to stay again. Grateful thanks to Norman and Venetia, and Good Wishes for 2018 to them both.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your review; we are glad the cottage worked out for you, family and friends over Christmas. Best Wishes for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing