We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Are Going Back ASAP”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #5 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Are Going Back ASAP”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed in the Four poster bedroom with en suite. The room was spacious and clean with sea view. Ian and Nikki's hospitality was professional and they made our stay warm and welcome. The Breakfast was good and cooked individually to order so the food was not pre-heated. The Bar prices were good and not overpriced. We shall be going back for a weekend break ASAP. we would highly recommend this House Hotel.

Room Tip: The four poster room has a sea view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretandDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    42
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
147
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed by chance and had a very friendly and warm welcome from Nikiya an Ian. The evening at the bar was great fun with two lovely hosts. Room was very comfortable, although small, but had every little luxury you hope to find from a far grander hotel, and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A basic B and B im gobsmacked by all the glowing reviews .I booked into a room with owner nikki with a 4 poster bed and sea view. On arrival was told nothing was known about this booking and was given a small room instead ,no apologies .Im glad i was on buisness the B and B and Dawlish is a dated and tired tourist place ,main tourist attraction amusment arcade .The restaurant as recommended was awful the worst bowl of mussels in my life served in dishwater .If you have to visit Dawlish suggest you stop at the Beeches or Dunluce as far superior clean establishments or travel a bit further west and go to a decent area such as Fowey

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gedmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

For anyone looking to stay in the Dawlish area, this is a reasonable choice of hotel. The owners, Nikki and Ian, are very friendly and welcoming, our rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. One drawback is that it is close to a main road and at night we found it quite noisy. Also, our daughter's room (no. 12) was very light, presumably from a street lamp. The bar is a nice idea except that on two occasions we would have bought a drink, there was nobody around to serve us and nobody came when we tried ringing the bell. Not really a problem but we wonder if the space would be better used for another purpose. The breakfasts were all very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Where do I begin!.... If you're planning to stay in Dawlish then quite simply put 'this is the hotel to stay at'.
We stayed here with our 17 month old son and nothing was too much trouble for Niki and Ian the owners. They made us feel very welcome.
The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was beautiful, a four poster bed, decor was lovely with a large TV and a fridge (which was very useful for our sons milk). The en-suite was like something you see in a bathroom advertisement brochure, beautiful.
There is ample parking here which when you've got a load of baby stuff is a real bonus.
The breakfast was superb and it was very obvious that only the best ingredients were used.
We enjoyed a few drinks with Niki and Ian one night and found them both to be very sincere, genuine and warm people.
We would not hesitate in staying here again when next in Dawlish in fact I can say without doubt I would not stay anywhere else. The hotel and the way it is run is a real credit to Niki and Ian, thanks for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

A very friendly hotel with an extremely warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them at all. The bed was very comfortable, and the tea tray had a good selection. There was plenty of parking, and the area was good with a variety of places to eat and shops. I don't have any complaints to make about my stay. And, as i am a child, i can tell you straight that children are very welcome in this hotel! I will definitely be back, no arguement about it.
Thanks for a lovely holiday Nikki and Ian.
Gemma Varley.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaVarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Gemma, thank you so much for your very kind compliments. Nikki and I so much enjoyed your company and that of your sister Rebecca and Mum and Dad (Jan & Chris). We look forward to seeing you again - perhaps next Summer. Good luck in the meantime with your studies! Nikki and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
697 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
238 reviews
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
418 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Property: Lyme Bay House
Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing