We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend in dawlish”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #4 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend in dawlish”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Lyme ay hotel was really a friendly hotel ,the bedroom was very comfortable and clean the breakfasts we really good with a variety of cereals and local jams and marmalade, Nikki and Ian were perfect hosts. We will certainly got back to this hotel and wold recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent there are also some rooms on ground floor for those who are less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
You are absolutely right the Ground Floor Rooms are ideal for some. They are close to the main entrance and not far from the Dining Room for Breakfast.

We do also have an area inside for "parking" of mobility scooters, push-chairs, prams and wheelchairs.

Thank you for your company we really enjoyed it. Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    41
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
39
144
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The main advantage of this guest house was the welcome and friendliness of the hosts, Nikki and Ian. We were offered a choice of two rooms which was a nice touch. We opted for the slightly smaller one due to the good size of bathroom(the other was the width of the very small shower cubicle with the basin in the bedroom)
Once in the bedroom however we found it very difficult in terms of space and moved a case into the car as we had nowhere to put it. The bed although small was comfy, however the top poly cotton sheet used with duvet was not to my taste as I would prefer a clean duvet cover each time and I would expect high quality cotton linens in a four star establishment.
The breakfasts were good if you were able to take advantage of 'full english' but it would be nice to have healthy options as we're offered in other supposedly similar rated b and bs this trip.
The room was serviced and replenished, apart from biscuits, during our two day stay.
I hesitate to sound negative when others have thought so highly of the establishment but conclude that we all have different standards and this was well below the standard of the other 2 , similarly priced and rated, guest houses we stayed in this trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEAEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We are always very disappointed when our Guests are not completely satisfied with their stay with us and this review is clearly not one of our better ones.

If there is anything not to satisfaction then we encourage guests to bring it to our attention at the time.

For those that want a more spacious room please request the Four Poster Bed Room (Room 2).

Bed linen can be changed upon request to non-allergic, 100% cotton or cotton-free. Similarly with duvets and pillows.

A pack of biscuits is usually provided for every guest every day. It seems on this occasion replenishing biscuits was over-looked and for this we apologise. We have also re-visited our House Keeping procedures in this regard. Additional packs of biscuits over and above the one a day are also available with our pleasure but you do need to ask. So too are coffee, tea, cream, milk and sugar.

We are a little puzzled by the reference to a "more healthy" breakfast. The fruit salad is fresh melon, pineapple, strawberries and grapes. Yoghurts are low or zero fat. All produce is of the highest quality.

A "Full English Breakfast" is by no means mandatory. Any items in any combination can be ordered and most guest not wanting such a big meal first thing in the morning do just this.

Any special breakfast requirements are also catered for where possible. If you give us sufficient notice (the day before for example), we are happy to meet your needs.

A good vegetarian breakfast is always available and there is no need for advance notice of this.

We continue to strive for continued improvement. Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A really friendly hotel with excellent breakfasts, legendary. The most I have ever had for breakfast with a choice of fresh fruits, cereals, full English and toast with local marmalade.
Nikki and Ian are excellent hosts and are knowledgeable about the local area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road, it can be noisy on a Saturday night with boy racers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. You are right about the breakfasts a Full English is for the very hungry. We do offer a smaller Full English if requested and there is always the option to "mix and match" any of the items on the menu.

We get very mixed reports about the road noise especially related to Room 12 which is the room closest to the road. Some Guests do not notice any noise at all. Others do. It probably depends on what one is used to and how much of a "light sleeper" you are.

Please feel free to call us and book over the phone requesting a quiet room.

Many thanks Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here from 31st May we arrived very early at 8.30 and rang the bell just to ask if we could use the loo!! we were met by Nikki who was so welcoming and friendly and she invited us in for breakfast as we hadn't found anywhere to eat at this time, and OH what a meal the breakfasts are large and very tasty and so much selection with the cereals , fruit juice and delicious home made fresh fruit salad, absolutely excellent, we were then offered a room much earlier that our check in time, which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Nikki and Ian are really nice and value their guests. Nikki is a great and such a laugh. Would recommend Lyme Bay House to all .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mjd071012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Yes, for those that want to get to Dawlish early and enjoy a full day, we do encourage you to come to us as soon as you arrive - preferably letting us know in advance.

As long as the Car Park is not completely full, you are welcome to then leave your car with us for the day.

We can often accommodate you for breakfast upon arrival if required - please just call the day before us let us know.

Many thanks

Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Have just returned from a fantastic 3 days at the Lyme Bay House 31may 2013 made even more special by Nikki and Ian.We had the choice of two rooms which we thought was really lovely we chose room number 1 the views out to the sea was delightful .Our room was cleaned daily and tea ,coffee and milk refreshments were replenished every day with posh biscuits. Now what can we say about Nikki's breakfast all i can say is if you have the full English you will not eat untill late in the day it was excellent and for that a loan it is worth the stay .We will be recommending Lyme Bay House to family and friends We will be returning Deb and Paul from Warwick

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We do try and offer you a choice of rooms.

If you have a specific requirement it is best to call and discuss with Nikki or Ian.

We will always do our best to give you what you prefer.

Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were met by Nikki who was warm and friendly went out of her way to make sure we all had the right room and left us to it. When we came back down she was full of information about were to go and best place to eat Ian had the bar open when we returned from sightseeing and was as warm and sociable as Nikki. We were only here as a stop over on way to Looe but will definately be back. A lovely couple who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicjay160992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We are always very pleased to offer advice on places to eat and drink nearby. We only recommend places that we know of ourselves and have visited recently and of course that meet our own standards.

Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Lyme Bay House. Nicki and Ian are superb hosts, Nicki even helped me out with a sewing job when I found I had snagged the new dress I was wearing to the wedding we were going to. What service ! Breakfast excellent, the guest house is lovely and clean, and a very warm welcome. Handy for the shopping area, walking, the beach etc. Nicki and Ian are on hand to offer suggestions for meals out, and local travel knowledge. 11/10. Thanks guys !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandPeterWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
The character of the area has improved recently now that Dawlish Town Centre and The Strand and Lawn have been redeveloped.

There are new cafes, coffee shops and restaurants popping-up for Summer 2013.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay and that the Wedding went well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Property: Lyme Bay House
Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing