We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friday”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely one night stay with my mum. As it was a late booking we were unsure if we'd get a room but we got a lovely big room, very comfy beds, lovely breakfast and lovely hosts. Good location. Can't find any faults. We'll be staying here again :-)

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Saxbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Manager at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very pleased that both you and your Mum enjoyed the experience.

Hopefully next time you will be able to stay a little longer and explore the area.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Good location, close to the railway station to get out and about. Owners very friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed in was tired, with peeling wallpaper, it was the dearest room with the four poster bed, but very tired looking and in desperate need of updating. Breakfast was ok but nothing to get excited about. Ample parking, although we travelled by train. Would stay here again but purely for its location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Stars021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Yes we are in an excellent location for travelling all around South Devon and Dartmoor.

These guests travelled by train and booked our Three for Two Special offer which usually runs in the low season from November to February. This was just prior to the catastrophic damage to the railway line, which has now thankfully been repaired, ready for a hopefully very busy summer in Dawlish.

We were somewhat puzzled by the comments regarding both the room and the breakfast. The room has recently been refurbished with amongst other things, quality wall paper, an Axminster carpet and a 42” Flat Screen TV. Most guests comment on how comfortable the Four Poster bed is. The room is spacious with Sea View. It has a large table for reading, spreading-out or computer working. The bathroom has both bath and shower.

As for breakfast, we can only imagine that the guests did not take full advantage of what we have to offer. Certainly no complaints were made at the time. If you would like to check the Breakfast Menu please click the link under ROOMS at the top of the homepage on our website. We do also encourage guests to advise us if they have any special requests or dietary needs. We always do our best to oblige.

Having our own Car Park is a real bonus as parking is in very short supply in Dawlish especially in the summer and now even more so since The Strand redevelopment last year. Many of our guests park their car upon arrival and spend all of their time with us travelling on foot, by bicycle, by bus or by train.

If you would like to come and stay with us at Lyme Bay House, please call us on 01626-864211 or book directly on our website.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Lyme Bay. Nikki & Ian are outstanding in the way this guest house is run. Making everyone very welcome, like a friend, recommending places to eat & places to visit. Room had a fantastic view & was very comfortable with tea & coffee tray, hair dryer & toiletries. Breakfast was outstanding & very filling served at the best times to give everyone a good lay in expected when on holiday.
The Lyme Bay House is close to the beach, town & station.
Thank you Nikki & Ian. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you both so much for your support and for coming back to stay with us so soon after your first visit. It is so gratifying when customers return.

We want you to have a great experience when visiting so are only too pleased to advise you of the best places to eat, drink and see whilst in the area.

As for Breakfast, please feel free to ask for something that is not on the menu. We will be pleased to prepare it for you if you give us 24 hours’ notice to ensure we have the ingredients.

Thank you once again – see you soon.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Lyme Bay House after a friend recommended it for a weekend.
We were supposed to stay there for 4 days out of 8 days and ended up staying the entire time!
Ian and Nikki were delightful hosts and took care of even the smallest need and gave the warmest feeling, so much that we spent alot of time each day sitting with them on the bar talking ,even after long and tiresome travelling days filled with walking and running around that would usually send you straight to bed.
This was our first visit in the UK and they really made our whole trip AND stay perfectly smooth.
We're already planning our next stay in the UK,and will no doubt visit this lovely place again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jonathan & Elisha

Thank you both very much for your very kind comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip here to the UK which turned about to be quite an adventure in itself due in part to the train problems.

The weather could hardly have been worse for you so hopefully when you come next time we can show you the wonderful coast and countryside around the area in beautiful Summer sunshine. It really does get much warmer and sunnier sometimes!

Thanks you both again for choosing Lyme Bay House for your first trip to England.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Although hubby and I were only able to stay 1 night, for a special anniversary, we booked the honeymoon suite and were delighted with it.
The service, friendliness, comfort and cleanliness of the place if second to none.
The breakfast was fabulous. All in all a great few days away. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to the honeymoon suite your worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thanks for spending your "special occasion" with us here in Dawlish and many thanks for your kind words.

We do hope to see you again in the near future - perhaps for a little longer next time - we hardly had time to get to know you.

Please note that we often have "3 for 2" Offers available in Winter months. Please just check three consecutive days on the booking section of our website - www.lymebaydawlish.co.uk - or call us on 01626-864211 to enquire.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Thank you Nikki and Ian for a very relaxing stay. Nikki was immediately welcoming and so helpful with recommending places to visit in the surrounding area. The room (2) was uuber clean and very comfortable. The view from this room also is fabulous. The breakfast was amazing and they do not scrimp on portions, we ate at 9.30am and then again at 8.45pm and to be honest we were both still a little full.
Thanks again Nikki and Ian it was a perfect place to stay just before Christmas... Nicky and Nathan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Nicky and Nathan

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.

For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.

However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki's freshly prepared fruit salad.

Hope to see you both again soon!

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice comfortable and clean room for mother and adult daughter to share for a week while visiting relatives in Dawlish and Teignmouth. Great location, parking available and very close to railway station. Nicky and Ian are friendly and welcoming hosts. Very obliging when having to check out early hours to catch flight at Exeter - continental breakfast delivered the night before in thermos flasks. Excellent breakfasts served in downstairs breakfast room with wide range of choices. Very nice plunger coffee and huge assortment of gourmet jams etc. All round very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we are ideally situated for exploring the area, not only Dawlish itself but also a wide area around us. Buses to Exeter and Newton Abbot stop right outside and the railway station is only 5 minutes walk away.

Exeter Airport is only 30 minutes away and we can arrange taxis if required.

We try to keep a good selection of jams and preserves, including reduced sugar ones, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed them so much.

Hopefully, we will see you again when you next come to the UK from Sydney, Australia.

Regards Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
251 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing